Junior hurlers reach Co. final 2016


They now play Gusserane in the county junior hurling final in a few weeks’ time. The Rappareers got off to an early start with the first two points but the Shelmaliers were soon on level terms with Conor Byrne third point after 15 minutes. A great move involving a number of players saw Michael Feeney catching in the square and a pass to James Cash who fired to the roof of the net giving his side the lead for the first time. Two further points from Conor Byrne saw the side’s level at half time. Points from Michael Feeney, Conor Byrne, Graham Staples saw the Shelmaliers retain their lead with was further extended when Conor Byrne was fouled in the square and the same player scored the resulting penalty.  The Shelmalier team was: Fergal Hynes, Eoin O Leary, Kevin O Leary, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Cian Manley, Barry O Connor, Aaron O Neill, Denis Kelly, Graham Staples, Chris Gordon, Conor Byrne, Emmet O Leary, Michael Feeney, Stephen Whelan and James Cash. Subs used Niall Murphy, Eoghan Nolan, Craig Parker and Ronan Kavanagh.