Willie O’Leary Cup

rbThe Willie O’ Leary cup took place in Hollymount today with 39 boys & 15 girls from Castlebridge, Screen and Curracloe national schools. Pic boys winner Ross Banville.

The hurling on view was of the highest order. There were 4 teams who each got to play 4 games each. We ended up with two finals. In the runners up final, we had Wexford led by Captain Aaron Doyle who got boys player of the runners up final against Tipperary led by Ryan Hanrahan. The winners were Tipp with Caitlin Carroll getting girls player of the final. We then had the winner’s final between Kilkenny captained by Ross Banville against Galway led by Abbie Devereux. It was a great final with Kilkenny winning on a scoreline of 3-7 to2-2. Ross Banville received the cup and said a nice few words. Ailish Neville and Ross Banville received players of the final. Other speakers were Seamus O’Leary, Eamonn Manley, Martin Doyle, Alan Aherne and Ed Lyons who presented the cup and medals. The winning team: Ross Banville, Ailish Neville, Darragh Malone. Mark Doyle, Matt Kavanagh, .Adam O’Leary, Cian Rossiter, Shane Jackman, Darragh Wilson, Nicole Byrne, Scott Byrne, James Borg, Rachel Murphy. Alan Aherne made a presentation to Amanda Bolger for her sterling work with the schools Rackard league team which was well deserved.