Gorey overcome U14 Footballers

A great fight back by the Shelmaliers under 14 footballers in the second half failed to stop a very strong Gorey side claiming the under 14 county title on Saturday last in Oylgate.

Gorey started brightly with an early goal and a point before centre forward Liam Rockett pointed for the black and amber side in the 6th minute.  Two further goals for Gorey in the 7th and 11th minute really put it up to the Shels boys and they were not found wanting with Conor Hearne and Craig Parker coming to grips in midfield and half forward line of Michael O Rourke, Liam Rockett and Chris Cowman pushing forward in search of scores with Chris Cowman pointing in the 20th minute. With full forward line of Dan Campbell, Sean Reidy and Kyle Roche finding little room in the forward area further scores were hard to come by as the strong Gorey defence stopped many Shels attacks. As the half came to a close the Shels defence came under severe pressure but they had outstanding defenders in Adam Howlin, Jamie Furlong, Sean Keane, Kevin Harte, Nathen Murphy, Aaron O Neill and Mark Power, however, they were very unlucky to concede three further goals before the half time whistle.
The second half was a much different affair as the Shels boys showed their true form with a  great display of flowing football. The Shels supports had something to cheer for as Michael O Rourke fired in two great goals closely followed by a close in drive by full forward Sean Reidy to register Shelmaliers third goal of the half in the 20th minute. Unfortunate it was too little too late as the goal fest by Gorey in the first half made it very difficult for the Shels to gain the upper hand. Final score Gorey 7-7 Shelmaliers 3-2.   
Team  Adam Howlin, Jamie Furlong, Sean Keane, Kevin Harte, Nathan Murphy, Aaron O Neill, Mark Power, Craig Parker, Conor Hearne, Michael O Rourke, Liam Rockett, Chris Cowman, Dan Campbell, Sean Reidy and Kyle Roche.
Subs Neill Hearne, James Doyle, Cillian Tobin, Aaron Doyle, Peter Doyle, Shane Pierce, Stuart Fanning, Adam Hearne, Ross Banville,
Selectors Colm Tynan, James Murphy and Donal Power.