Full report Junior B. Co. Final

Late penalty robs Shels of football title.

A controversial late penalty awarded to Horeswood in injury time saw them claim the county Junior B Football title over a gallant Shelmaliers side by 2-11 to 2-9 played in Wexford on Saturday last. This was a game of two contrasting half with Horeswood domination the first half with the Shelmaliers coming with a great second half performance. The Shels opened brightly with Brian O Connor, Eoghan Nolan and Darren Shiggins firing over early points, however, Horeswood then took control of the game beginning with a goal in the 7th minute from the penalty spot. A run of seven unanswered point for Horeswood saw them led by 1-7 to 0-5 after 25minutes. The Shelmaliers got the last score of the half with Brian O Connor scoring from a free in the 28th minute to leave a half time score of Horeswood 1-8 Shelmaliers 0-5.
Horeswood got the first point of the second half but Kevin O Connor pointed in the 12th minute to make it 1-9 to 0-6. Shelmaliers had a great opportunity to regain the upper hand when awarded a penalty in the 14th minute, however, a great save by the Horeswood goalie blocked Simon Donohoe’s shot to the corner of the net. With a number of positional changes the Shelmaliers began to come more into the game with some fine flowing football from end to end. Sub Aidan Clarke fired over after a good run from deep and a Kevin O Connor free in the 22nd minute saw a great revival by the Shelmaliers. Goals from Simon Donohoe and Gary Murphy and an Eoghan Nolan point saw the Shelmaliers lead by 2-9 to 1-10 with time running out for the Horeswood men. However ref Seamus Whelan awarded a penalty to Horeswood in stoppage time for what he deemed a foot block by a Shelmaliers player, with most in the park disagreeing with his decision Horeswood converted the penalty and scored a very late point to leave a final score of Horeswood 2-11 Shelmaliers 2-9.
Sean Byrne, Barry Murphy, Donal Power, Gary Murphy, Darren Doyle, Dessie Kehoe, Robbie Staples, John Nolan, Eoghan Nolan, Brian O Connor, Darren Shiggins (capt.) Simon Donohoe, Graham Staples, James Shiggins and Barry Redmond.
Paddy Murphy, Stan O Leary, Aidan Clarke, Bobby Delaney, Michael Redmond, John Redmond, Adam Whitmore, Eoin O Leary, Kevin O Connor, Andy Corrigan, Blain Parnell, Larry Roche, Damian Doyle, Robbie Kirwan, Steven Carr.