Seniors win epic battle V St. Martins

Shels withstood a strong fight back from 14 man St. Martins to hold on for a record victory to reach the Co. semi finals 2-16 to 2-13.

Shels met St. Martins in the quarter finals of the hurling championship in Wexford Park in their second appearance inside a week at this level. Having went down to St. Annes in the football last week we were doubly determined to go further in the hurling.  Martins drew first blood but Eoin Doyle equalised moments later. St. Martins had moved 04 to -02 ahead before Stephen Banville and Ciaran O’Shaughnessy combined to put Conor Byrne through for an excellent goal. St. Martins had a man dismissed at this stage. Shels buoyed by the goal set up attack after attack and were soon 2-6 to 0-4 ahead. The second goal coming from Ciaran O’Shaughnessy after a super pass from the on form Stephen Banville. The Martins and Shels both added 3 points each coming to the break to leave the half time score 2-9 to 07 in favour of Shels.

On the resumption, Shels moved further ahead with 6 points from Stephen Banville, Tommy Barron, Joe Kelly (2), Eoin Doyle and Ciaran O’Shaughnessy with Martins hitting 3 points in the same period. 2-15 to 0-10. St. Martins were moving up a gear and both sides were battling hard and referee James Owens was busy with numerous yellow cards being issued. Ciaran O’Shaughnessy had a great block to deny St. Martins. However the Martins piled on the pressure with 2 points one from a placed ball before Shels goalie Brian Murphy denied Martins again. However in the melee a penalty was awarded to St. Martins which their goalie Mark Butler duly dispatched to the back of the net. A 21 yard free, moments later also yielded a major for the Martin’s goal keeper. 2-15 to 2-12.  Ciaran O’Shaughnessy got a late insurance point in injury time to put 4 between the sides again but Martins pulled one back to leave the bare 3 points between the sides again.  As the clock ticked on Shels supporters were ecstatic to hear the final whistle after coming out on top 2-16 to 2-13. Faythe Harriers, Rathnure and Oulart/The Ballagh are the other finalists for the county semi finals.
Team: Brian Murphy, Clive Lawler-Ryan, Aidan Murphy, Brian Malone, Aidan Cash, Conor Walsh, Benny Barron, Eoin Doyle (0-2), John Redmond, Alan Griffith (0-1), Ciaran O’Shaughnessy (1-3), Joe Kelly (0-6,4F) Tommy Barron (0-1), Stephen Banville (0-3),Conor Byrne (1-0) . Subs introduced. Brian Doyle & Chris McGrath.
Selectors: Vinny Parker, Mick Kelly and Ibar Murphy.