Senior Hurlers progress to final 8


Our senior hurlers held on for a 4 pt victory over Glynn/Barntown to progress to the final 8 in the Senior hurling Championship. A great goal by Tommy Barron aiding victory.

Shels met Glynn/Barntown in a must win game to progress in the hurling championship. Ciaran O’Shaughnessy hit the first point of the game with Joe Kelly converting a free. Glynn pulled 2 ahead hitting 4 points in the first ten minutes. Stephen Corrigan pointed for Shels with Glynn going 2 clear again soon after. However, Joe Kelly on fine form tapped over 4 points (3F) to make the sides level at 07 each with Glynn getting a point just on injury time. Half time score -08 to 0-07. Joe Kelly (F) and Ciaran O’Shaughnessy pointed early in new half with Glynn drawing level with both sides 09 each. However Shels entered a purple patch scoring 1-6 with Glynn only pointing one in the same period.  Tommy Barron hitting 1-3 and points from John Redmond, Eoin Doyle and Joe Kelly. Shels were now well ahead at 1-15 to 0-10 after 27 minutes. However Glynn were far from done and first goaled from a 21 yard free whilst Tommy Barron added a minor for Shels. Keeper Brian Murphy denied Glynn twice in quick succession but Glynn’s persistence eventually paid off with a goal just on full time. There were now just 3 between the sides before Joe Kelly added a late insurance point (f) into injury time just as referee Damian Donovan blew the final whistle. Joy for Shels as they reach the final 8 for the first time in several years whilst Glynn/Barntown face the relegation play offs. Shels are likely to meet St. Martins or St. Annes when the draw is made later in the week.

Best for Shels were Clive Lawler-Ryan who mopped up time after time in defence, Eoin Doyle who kept the ball moving in mid field, Joe Kelly and Tommy Barron who scored at will during the game.

Team: Brian Murphy, Clive Lawler-Ryan, Aidan Murphy, Andre O’Brien, Aidan Cash, Conor Walsh, Benny Barron, John Redmond (0-1), Eoin Doyle (0-1), Joe Kelly (0-8,6F), Ciaran O’Shaughnessy (0-2), Brian Doyle, Stephen Corrigan (0-1), Noel Mythen, Tommy Barron (1-4). Subs introduced: Conor Byrne and Alan Griffith.