Minors overcome Crossabeg

The Shelmalier minor footballers qualified for the knockout states of the championship with a 1—11 to 1-7 victory over near neighbours Crossabeg/Ballymurn played in Ballymurn on Sunday last.

Star performer for the Shels was wing forward Stephen McGuire with a total 1-6 of his sides total score of 1-11. The Shelmaliers some early form racing to an early lead of 0-4 to 0-0 after 10 minutes with points from Stephen McGuire (2), Adam Whitmore and Tony Smyth. Crossabeg replied with two points of their own before a further two from sharpshooter Stephen McGuire extended his sides lead to 0-6 to 0-2 after 20 minutes. Crossabeg produced a late rally with three unanswered points before Tony Smyth got his sides last point of the half to leave a half time score of Shelmaliers 0-7 to Crossabeg 0-5.
Crossabeg came out the stronger at the start of the second half; however, it was the Shelmaliers who extended their lead with points by Adam Whitmore and Stephen McGuire. Crossabeg fired over a further point before that man again McGuire fired to the opponents net after a fine run by Eoghan Nolan after 12minutes. Crossabeg continued to exert pressure on the Shels backs where Sean Byrne, Glen Malone, Eoin O Leary, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Aaron Murphy, Conor Forde and Neil Rossiter put in a real team effort to stop many Crossabeg attacks. Midfield began to dominate as the game went on where Eoghan Nolan, James Cash and Graham Staples were outstanding. The forwards worked very hard throughout where Adam Whitmore, Shane Carter, John Forde, Tony Smyth helped set up many scoring opportunities. Crossabeg got a late goal to leave a final score of Shelmaliers 1-11 Crossabeg/Ballymurn 1-7.
Team Sean Byrne, Eoin O Leary, Glen Murphy, Aaron Murphy, Neal Rossiter, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Conor Forde, James Cash, Eoghan Nolan, Stephen McGuire, Graham Staples, Tony Smyth, Shane Carter, Adam Whitmore and John Forde.  
Subs Aaron Ryan and Jody Donohoe.