Minors lose to St. Martins

Late rally seals St. Martins victory:

A late rally by St Martins where they scored three very late points in the closing two minutes to seal victory over a brave Shelmalier side by 1-16 to 2-10 in the minor football championship played in Piercestown on Sunday last. The first half was a low scoring game with both sides scoring four points each with all Shels points coming from full forward Kevin O Connor. The second half was a much faster and intensive game with some great scoring from both sets of forwards. Captain Neal Rossiter opened his sides account in the second half with a great point in the 5th minute. As the game progressed  St Martins began to dominate the midfield area with resulted in four unanswered points. However, the Shels boys had other ideas when Eoghan Nolan blasted to the St. Martins net in the 12th minute to leave only 2 points between the sides. Graham Staples added a further point before Stephen McGuire got the Shels second goal in the 17th minute to leave the sides level 2-7 to 1-10. Each side exchange three further points with the Shels scores coming from Kevin O Connor 2-10 to 1-13 before the late St Martins rally saw them snatch victory by 1-16 to 2-10.
Team Sean Byrne Eoin O Leary, Simon Donohoe, Glen Malone, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Eoghan Nolan, Kevin Byrne, Graham Staples, Adam Whitmore, Stephen McGuire, Neal Rossiter, Conor Forde, Colin Cleary, Kevin O Connor, Tony Smith. Subs Evan Deveraux, Aaron Ryan, Niall Cash, John Forde, Jodie Donohoe and Shane Carter.