Minor hurlers overcome Oulart

The Shelmaliers minor hurlers effectively wrapped up this game with a 5 minute scoring fest in the second and third quarter.

They scored 2-3 in both periods without reply which saw this talented side record their first victory in the championship. The first 10 minutes saw both sides exchange points with the Shels scores coming from Simon Donohoe, Kevin O Connor and Eoghan Nolan. However, as the game progressed the Shels boys began to get the upper hand and this saw the first of the scoring spree with Kevin O Connor (1-0) Adam Whitmore (1-1) and Simon Donohoe (0-2) giving the black and amber a decisive lead at half time 2-6 to 0-3.
The Shelmaliers continued where they left off with Adam Whitmore racing through to fire to the net after 5 minutes. Simon Donohoe and Glen Malone added further points before Adam again raced through to make it 4-9 to 1-4. A long ball from a free 70 yards out sailed all the way to the Oulart net ot make it 5-9 to 1-4. A minute later Kevin O Connor received from a James Cash run into attack and he turned his man to make it 6-9 to the Shelmaliers. With the game effectively over as a contest the Shels boys eased off and this allowed Oulart to make a late rally when scoring 2-7 in this period. The final score line was Shelmaliers 6-10 to Oulart 3-10.
Team: Stephen McGuire, Eoin O Leary, Neal Rossiter, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Aaron Murphy, Simon Donohoe, Conor Forde, Glen Malone, Graham Staples, Eoghan Nolan, James Cash, Sean Byrne, Kevin O Connor, Adam Whitmore and Joe Redmond.
Subs: Evan Deveraux, Micheal Feeney, John Forde, Colin Cleary, Gavin Potter, Jody Donohoe, Aaron Ryan and Bryan Kehoe