Third Football team win again

gsAnother great performance saw the third team comprehensively beat Kilmore’s second team by 4-12 to 1-6.

Shels did most of the running in the first half and created a huge amount of scoring chances. James Shiggins and Barry Redmond combined well with Barry scoring 2-1 in the first half. Kilmore replied with 3 good points from 4 chances, but with further points from Aidan Clarke (2), Bobby Delaney, Adam Whitmore and Andy Corrigan, it looked as if the Shels were going to run away with the game (2-6 to 0-3). However, Kilmore never gave up and were awarded a penalty as half time approached. Sean Byrne saved but was beaten by a rebound off the post to leave the half time score at 2-6 to 1-3, with the Shels playing with the wind.
In the second half Kilmore upped their game considerably and added 3 points to make a real game of it. At this stage Kilmore were controlling most of the mid-field action, so Graham Staples was introduced for the Shels, to up the tempo. From here on in it was all the Shels with Adam Whitmore, Graham, Eoghan Nolan and Darren Shiggins controlling all the mid-field action. Aidan Clarke went on to score 1-3 which quickly pushed the game out of reach and further points from Eoghan O’ Leary (immediately after he was introduced), James Shiggins and another 1-1 from Barry Redmond pushed the Shels on for an impressive victory 4-12 to 1-6.
With the Shels having received a walkover from St Martins, the Shels now have 6 points and if they can win one of their last two games, they will qualify for the district semi-final. Training continues during the week and there will also be a practice match against Volunteers on Saturday evening where the full panel will be given a chance to play.

Panel for game against Kilmore was
1 Sean Byrne Subs
2 Barry Murphy 16. John Redmond for Bobby Delaney
3 John Nolan 17. Graham Staples for Stanley O’Leary
4 Robbie Staples 18. Eoghan O’Leary for Gary  Murphy
5 Darren Doyle 19. Michael Redmond for Andy Corrigan
6 Eoghan Nolan 20. Aaron Ryan for Darren Shiggins
7 Andy Corrigan
8 Adam Whitmore Also
9 Darren Shiggin 21. Blain Parnell
10 Gary Murphy 22. Robbie Kirwan
11 Aidan Clarke 23. Damien Doyle
12 Bobby Delaney 24. Stephen Carr
13 Stanley O’Leary 25. Conor O’Shaughnessy
14 James Shiggins 26. Graham Drennan
15 Barry Redmond 27. Larry Roche