Juniors lose to St. James

Great second half performance by Shels Junior hurlers:

Shelmalier Junior hurling team played their second in this year’s championship against St. James Ramsgrange in Taghmon on Saturday evening last and went down to a very strong Ramsgrange first team by 2-14 to 0-4. However, the score is not a true reflection of the match when the Shelmalier side showed great determination throughout the match but did not get the scores to match this great effort particularly in the second half of the match, when we had many great opportunities to score crucial goals.
Ramsgrange got off to a great start with three unanswered point in the first five minutes. John Redmond opened the scoring for the Shels with a point from a 65m free in the 6th minute and Ronan Kavanagh doubled the scoring with a second point in the 8th minute after some great work by John Campbell. The next 20 minutes saw Ramsgrange dominate the match with some fine play by inter-county star Matthew O Hanlon. The south Wexford side scored 1-7 without reply during this period even though the Shelmalier controlled much of the play. Goalie Willie Redmond and back line of Kevin O Leary, Darren Malone and Simon Donohoe did well to control the Ramsgrange forward line, they got great assistance from Cathal Gaule, Denis Kelly and Conor Tobin during this period of the match.
The second half was a complete turnaround for the Shelmaliers with a greater urgently in all parts of the field. John Redmond and James Cash began to control midfield and the half forward line of Willie O Shaughnessy, Ronan Kavanagh and Chris Gordan delivered the ball much faster to the full line of John Campbell, Noel Mythen and Ibar Murphy. Both sides exchange points in the first 10 minutes with Ibar Murphy firing over 2 for the Shelmaliers and from the next ten minutes it was all Shelmalier play, but once again they failed to convert this into scores on the scoreboard. Ramsgrange finished the stronger with three unanswered points to leave a final score of 2-14 to 0-4.
Willie Redmond, Kevin O Leary, Darren Malone, Simon Donohoe, Cathal Gaule, Denis Kelly, Conor Tobin, John Redmond (c) James Cash, Willie O Shaughnessy, Ronan Kavanagh, Chris Gordan, John Campbell, Noel Mythen and Ibar Murphy.
Subs Stephen Whelan, Mick Kelly and Shane Bierney.