Gallant minors narrow loss to Gorey

Shelmalier minor hurlers played Gorey in the third round of the championship in Hollymount on Wednesday evening last.

After a great come back in the second half they lose out by a single point after an hour of exciting hurling in very poor weather conditions. The home side were first off the mark when Simon Donohoe fired to the Gorey net after 5 minutes and Kevin O Connor pointed shortly afterwards. However, Gorey came more into the match as the game moved into the 10 minute. Gorey scored 1-2 without reply in the first quarter, to take the lead for the first time in the match. The Shelmalier backs were under some pressure with Simon Donohoe, Stephen McGuire, Neal Rossiter, Eoin O Leary, Aaron Murphy and Eoghan Fitzgerald playing extremely well to stop the rampant Gorey forwards. Further goals for Gorey in the second quarter of the match say a half time score of 4-3 to 1-1 in favour of Gorey. But what a transformation in the Shels boys in the second half restricting the Gorey side to a second half score of a mere 1-3 with the home side just coming up short by the narrowest of margins when scoring 3-7 in this half. Simon Donohoe started the scoring with a point after 5 minutes and midfielder Glen Malone repeated the same act with a second point after 6 minutes. A quick ball played into the forwards say Kevin O Connor power to the Gorey net. Four further points from Simon Donohoe and   a second goal from Kevin O Connor put a single point between the sides. Gorey soon replied with a goal of their own but the Shels weren’t done and Adam Whitmore scored a fine goal to leave an exciting finish in near dark conditions. Everybody were on the edge of their seats as a great battle took place between two great sides with James Cash, Adam Whitmore, Eoghan Nolan, Sean Byrne and Kevin O Connor all trying very hard in the last quarter to snatch victory for the home side. However, it was not to be for this great performance. Final score Shelmaliers 4-8 Gorey 5-6.
Team :
Stephen McGuire, Eoin O Leary, Neal Rossiter, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Conor Forde, Simon Donohoe, Aaron Murphy, Graham Staples, Glen Malone, Eoghan Nolan, James Cash, Daniel Murphy, Kevin O Connor, Adam Whitmore, Sean Byrne.