Junior Camogie Update

The junior camogie championship has gotten off to a winning start for St Ibars with two wins from their first two outings.

The first junior championship match was away to Blackwater on the May holiday. The girls were determined to get the championship off to a winning start. They open the scoring and were in control throughout. The backs defended magnificently and kept a clean sheet. The mid field were on top during the game and aided the backs and forwards. The forwards notched up 1-10 on the scoreboard and were unlucky at times too. St Ibars had great passages of play in this game and linked up well throughout the field. The final score was St Ibars 1-10 Blackwater no score.

The panel on the night was: Mary Cullen (Captain), Niamh Doyle, Sinead Kelly, Aine Barron, Lisa Quill, Ciara Neville, Sharon Carr, Niamh Potter, Ceara O’Brien, Aine Leacy, Michelle Harding, Caroline Curran, Therese Sheil, Aideen Parker, Ornagh Cullen, Sinead Parrock and Roisin Cloake.
Management team: Kathleen Dooley, Francis Neville and Alan Aherne.

On Monday 9th May, St Ibars played Glynn Barntown in Hollymount at 7pm, in the second fixture of the junior championship. Having started the championship on a winning note the local girls were determined to continue on their winning run. Playing against a strong wind in the first half the defence held tight and the forwards raised the green and white flags. The score at half time was St Ibars 2-2 Glynn no score. The second half was a tighter affair and although St Ibars came under pressure they added to the four points to the score board. The local girls were missing a couple of players on the night and also welcomed back others from injury. The final score was St Ibars 2-6 Glynn Barntown no score.

The panel on the night was Mary Cullen (Captain), Lisa Quill, Sinead Kelly, Aine Barron, Ceara O’Brien, Ciara Neville, Sharon Carr, Aine Leacy, Laura Corrigan, Michelle Murphy, Michelle Harding, Caroline Curran, Therese Sheil, Aideen Parker, Ornagh Cullen, Emma Carroll, Sinead Parrock and Sinead Cowman.

Scorers:  Aideen Parker and Ornagh Cullen (1-0 each), Aine Lacey (0-2 ‘45s), Michelle Harding, Sharon Murphy, Therese Sheil and Emma Carroll (0-1 each).

The junior championship takes a break now until 24th June.