Juniors edge out Adamstown

Shelmaliers Junior hurlers met Adamstown Saturday evening in O’Kennedy Park, in New Ross.

As both teams had lost their first round games it was imperative that they win this one and so it set the stage for a thrilling encounter.

With Captain Darren Malone unavailable through illness, Shels had to be on top of the game from the off against Adamstown’s first team.
Conor Byrne kept Shels in the game converting two free’s in the opening minutes. Further free’s from John Redmond and Ibar Murphy kept us in touch with a strong attacking Adamstown who were forging ahead at this stage. When John Redmond and Garret Dunne combined to land the ball in Ronan Kavanagh’s hand in the 28th minute the young minor never hesitated and blasted the sliothar to the back of the net. Ibar Murphy pointed on the resulting puck out to level the game. In the 2nd minute of injury time Adamstown got a free to go into the break a point up.

Shels started the stronger in the second half and Ibar Murphy pointed from a free before Conor Byrne goaled from the penalty spot after Ronan Kavanagh was fouled in the square. Shels introduced some new legs at this stage and we were staying well in touch with Adamstown. Points from Ibar Murphy (4) Shane Griffith, and Brian Doyle) meant both teams were neck and neck to the finish. When the referee blew the final whistle in the 33rd minute, Shels had emerged the victors by the smallest of margins 2-12 to -17 and thoroughly deserved their victory over a sporting Adamstown side. Amongst those to shine on a night when all the team played well were Brian Murphy in goal who was outstanding, Conor Byrne, Ibar (hurler) Murphy, Shane Griffith, and Ronan Kavanagh.
Team: Brian Murphy, Brian Tobin, Fergie Parker (Acting Captain) Noel Mythen, James Murphy, Denis Kelly, Conor Byrne (1-2), Brian Doyle(0-1), Vinnie Parker, John Redmond(0-1F), Garret Dunne, Willie O’Shaughnessy, Ronan Kavanagh(1-0), Ibar (Hurler) Murphy(0-7,3F), Ciaran (Gooch) Walsh.
Subs introduced: Aidan Cash, Shane Griffith (0-1) and Feargal Hynes.