Willie O’Leary Cup

wolThe Willie O’Leary cup was played Friday afternoon in Castlebridge school.

The teams taking part were Dublin Offaly Wexford and Kilkenny. The teams were made up of boys and girls from 4th 5th and 6th classes of Curracloe, Screen and Castlebridge. There were close and exciting matches with the boys and girls showing of their hurling skills. Dublin led by Aaron Murphy and Offaly led by Glen Malone contested the final with Offaly coming out on top after a close match. The Offaly team were Glen Malone, Michael Feeney, Dan Campbell, Rachel Wall, Michael Lawlor, Shane Neville, & Aaron O’ Neill. Thanks to all who took part also thanks to four of our Shels minor hurlers who were bainisteors for the day, Stephen Corrigan, Conor Tobin, Shane Griffith, and Feargal Hynes. Paudie McMahon was the referee on the day. Thanks to County senior Footballer Brian Malone for making the presentations and Colm Flanagan who presented the Flanagan Cup to Glen Malone, the victorious captain. Also thanks to Castlebridge school for the use of their pitch.

See hurling 2009 photo gallery  for more photo’s