Juveniles unlucky V Naomh Eanna

U16 Hurling Championship V Naomh Éanna Sun 17 May 09. Venue: Gorey

This was the team that beat us in the co. semi-final two years ago, so we headed to a windy Gorey knowing we would have a game of it.

First Half: Having lost the toss we had to play against a strong wind and were under pressure from the start. Gorey were passing well and took some fine scores. We stayed with them well for twenty minutes but then they cut loose and scored 1-4 without reply to establish a good lead by half-time. There were still plenty of indications that we could pull back the lead however as we were playing well in spots.
Half-time score: Shels 0-3: Naomh Éanna: 1-10.
Second half: Dean Corrigan opened the second half defiantly with a fine 1-1. Craig, who played well all day, followed up with three pointed frees. Further scores from Dean, Craig and Conor left a single point between the teams with two minutes to go, when unfortunately Gorey sneaked a goal to seal the match. This was a result that was hard to stomach as we had the beating of them – however great credit must go to the lads for a brave effort.
Adam Whitmore showed his worth in the goal with some fine saves under pressure. He read the game well and came out to meet the ball successfully several times. Glen Murphy was solid in midfield and at centre-forward, while beside him Neil Rossiter really took the game to Gorey and worked hard throughout. Up front Craig McCabe was superb, and was well supported by Seán Byrne. Dean Corrigan contributed with well –taken scores.
By the time our next game comes around, after the exams, we will have seven players back, and there will be great competition for places as those who played today won’t be easily dislodged. Training every Sunday at 11.30 from now on for those who can take a break from study.
Full-time score: Shels 2-10; Gorey: 3-11.
Team: A. Whitmore ; E O’ Leary ; P O’ Leary ; J Murphy ; S Dwyer ; C Tobin(0-1) ; N Tobin ; N Rossiter ; D Corrigan(1-3) ; S Byrne ; G Murphy ; S Murphy ; S Donohoe ; C McCabe(1-6) ; E Fitzgerald ; A Ryan.