Late rally by Gorey sinks Shels minors.

Strong finish by Gorey see them progress to county final.

In an exciting and entertaining county minor football semi final in which the Shelmaliers took on Gorey in Hollymount on Saturday last, with the Gorey coming from behind to snatch victory by 2-8 to 0-9. The home team showed some fine flowing football in the first 15 minutes and build up a three point lead with points from Alan Rossiter, Benny Barron and Shane Murphy.  James Gordan, Brian Tobin, Brian O Connor and Conor Byrne were prominent in the Shels defense during this passage of play; however the Shelmaliers forwards were guilty of missing many good scoring opportunities. Gorey came more into the game and replied themselves with three unanswered points to leave the sides level after 20 minutes of play. The Shelmaliers finished the half strongly and with points from Aaron Watters, Shane O Connor and a great point from wing back Brian O Connor following some great interplay among the Shels forwards meant the home team went in at half time leading by 0-6 to 0-3.

Gorey were first off the mark in the second half with a point from all of 40 yards and they dominated the game for the first 10 minutes without any more scores. Shane O Connor and Shane Murphy points steadied the ship for the Shelmaliers, but again the Shels forwards missed a number of great goal scoring opportunities to put the game beyond Goreys reach. Alan Rossiter put five points between the sides when converting a 21 yard free in the 20th minute. However Gorey totally dominated the last 5 minutes and they succeeded in turned a 5 point deficit into a 5 point advantage during that time. A strong Gorey move from midfield opened up the Shels defense and resulted in a goal to level the sides and they followed that with a further goal and two points, to the disappointment of the large local support.

Conor O Neill.
Brian Tobin.
James Gordan.
Liam Donnelly.
Brian O Connor.
Conor Byrne.
Stephen Corrigan.
Benny Barron.
Brian Doyle.
Shane O Connor.
Joe Kelly.
Niall Stafford.
Shane Murphy.
Aaron Watters.
Alan Rossiter.
Craig McCabe.
Brian Murphy
Fergal Hynes