Minors make it three in a row

AWOur minor hurling team made it three in a row by winning the Co. Final Premier division, against Glynn/Barntown in Wexford Park, on Sunday last.

Shels playing with the wind got off to a good start when Chris Wall pointed in the first minute of the game. Brian (Turf) Murphy was immediately called on to make a superb save, the first of many during the course of the game. The teams were equally matched for the next ten minutes before Shels started to pull away, with Ronan Kavanagh winning good ball and with Chris Wall (2) and Conor Byrne (3F) both in fine scoring form The midfield partnership of Brian Doyle and Benny Barron supported ably by James Gordon was working well and Benny got on the scoreboard with a tasty point. Three additional frees from the accurate Conor Byrne before Glynn got a late point left the half time score at 0-10 to 0-3 in favour of the Shels.
Glynn hit first on the resumption, before Conor Byrne first pointed and then hit the back of the net from a penalty. Glynn were starting to come back into the game and but for the tenacity of the backs, could have been closer at this stage. Brian Tobin was working extremely hard and was clearing a lot of ball on the half back line. Glynn converted two more frees before Brian Doyle halted their run with a classy point, Shels last of the day. Then disaster struck, Glynn goaled and this spurred them into action and they hit five more points without reply. A final shot from Glynn hit off the upright and the referee blew the final whistle five minutes over the time to leave Shels the victors by the smallest of margins.1-12 to 1-11. Captain Aaron Watters accepted the cup on behalf of the team.
Brian  Murphy, Noel Mythen, Aaron Watters (C) Shane Griffith, Shane O’Connor, Conor Byrne (1-6, -6F, 1-0P), Brian Tobin Benny Barron (0-1) Brian Doyle (0-1) Shane Murphy, James Gordon, Conor Ryan, Ronan Kavanagh, Chris Wall (0-4) Joe Kelly.
Subs Introduced: Feargal Hynes and Aidan Cash
Panel Jimmer Doyle, Kevin O’Leary, Sean Walsh, Stuart Lacey, Johnny Campbell, Craig McCabe, Conor Tobin, Glen Murphy, Shane Birney, Paraic O’Leary

Mentors: John Byrne, John Wall, Oliver McGrath, Paul Kinsella, James Mythen, James Horan, Hughie Murphy.