Successful year reviewed at Coiste na nOg AGM

Shelmaliers win club of the year award.

The AGM of the Shelmalier GAA clubs underage section (Coiste na nOg) took place on Friday night last in the club house in Hollymount with a large attendance of members, parents and supporters of the club. Outgoing chairman John Byrne welcomed all those present and thanked them all for their work and support to the clubs underage section during the year. He said that it would be very difficult to run the club without the interest and commitment of the players, managers, selectors and supporters. Outgoing secretary Michael Ryan gave a detailed report of the year’s activities culminating in the club winning the county underage ‘club of the year’ award at the recent Coiste na nOg county convention. He said that the club had wins in the county championship in under 12 football and both under 16 and under 18 hurling and we were still waiting for the under 16 Football final to be played. He said that the county award was to recognize the clubs achievements in not only winning three premier county titles, but also to recognize the hard work and dedication of all club members and players. He said that there was a tremendous amount of work and coaching given to all our teams, but warned that this must be continued in the future if we want to ensure continued success. He praised the new club website which had helped to highlight the clubs activities and was particularly popular with our underage players in the club. Treasurer Aine Donohoe gave a detailed financial report which showed the underage section in a healthy financial state. She thanked the many sponsors and helpers who ensured that the club could go into 2008 on a sound financial footing. Senior club Chairman Noel Ryan thanked all the officers of Coiste na nOg for their hard work and commitment in 2007. He said that all the underage players who wore the black and amber jersey during the year were a credit to the club and their parents in the manner they represented the club both on and off the field of play.

 The following officers were elected for 2008: Chairman Aidan O Leary, Vice Chairman John McGrath, Treasurer Aine Donohoe, Assistant Treasurer Anne Forde, PRO Angela Griffith, Registrar John Byrne, Assistant Registrars Gerry Forde and Alan O Connor, Irish Officer Paul Tobin, Representative to senior management Aidan O Leary.

The election of team managers were: Under 8 and 10 coordinators Deckie Hearne and Noel Feeney, Under 12 hurling Noel Feeney, Under 12 football Seanie Murphy, Under 14 football Bob Staples, Under 14 hurling Seamus O Leary, Under 16 football Aidan O Leary, Under 16 hurling Paul Tobin, Under 18 football Benny McCabe and Under 18 hurling John Byrne.