Shelmaliers under 12 hurlers go out to Gorey in semi finals.

A brave Shelmaliers under 12 team went down in the Premier County Hurling Semi-final against Naomh Eanna in a game played in overcast conditions in Monageer on August 11th.
Playing with wind advantage the Shels pressed hard in the early stages and Michael Feeney and Kevin O’Connor were unlucky not to capitalise on some early opportunities.
The Shels half back line had started in fine fashion, with Conor Forde clearing his line on numerous occasions, James Cash was having a battle royal with Gorey danger man Conor McDonald and Aaron Murphy was his in his usual irrepressible form.
Despite the early possession who was Naomh Eanna who broke upfield and took advantage of some early chances with Conor McDonald bagging an early goal and a couple of points.
Despite this early pressure the Shels full back line of Glen Malone, Simon Donohoe and Brian Kehoe battled valiantly with Gavin Potter in the goal doing his best to stem the tide.
The Shels midfield of the hardworking Graham Staples and eager beaver Eoghan Nolan continued to advance the Shels cause but despite the hard work it was Naomh Eanna who made better use of their chances in the first half and ran in at half time 3-3 to 0-1 in front, a Graham Staples free the only score for the Shels in the first half.
The Shels attack did much better in the second half, with Larry Stoute, Stephen Maguire, Jody Donohoe and Graham Staples all scoring fine goals and there was also good approach work from Daniel Murphy.  Although under pressure at time in the second half Simon Donohoe maintained his impressive form ably assisted in the corners by Glen Malone and John Forde.   Despite scoring 4-1 in the 2nd half Shels could make no real inroads into the Gorey lead as the outstanding Conor McDonald scored all of the Naomh Eanna scores in the 2nd half scoring 3-5 alone in the 2nd period.
The final scoreline was Naomh Eanna 6-9 Shelmaliers 4-2.
Gavin Potter, Glen Malone, Simon Donohoe, Brian Kehoe, Conor Forde, James Cash, Aaron Murphy, Graham Staples (1-2, frees), Eoghan Nolan, Daniel Murphy, Kevin O’Connor, John Forde, Michael Feeney, Stephen Maguire (1-0), Larry Stoute (1-0).
Jody Donohoe (1-0) for Brian Kehoe, Aaron Ryan, Aodan Foley, Kevin Kehoe, Aaron Hearne,