Shelmaliers triumph over Bannow Ballymitty.

{moszoomthumb imgid=74 itemid=61 style_m=2 caption=(Shelmalier against Bannow Ballymitty.)}

Deserving win by under 21 footballers.

Under 21 Football Hollymount  Monday 16th July.

The Shelmaliers under 21 Football took on Bannow Ballymitty in the first round of the under 21 championship last Monday night 16th July at Hollymount.  As this is a knockout competition the pressure was on both sides to emerge victorious thus ensuring another game at this level.

Shelmaliers, fielding a relatively young team and missing towering midfielder Ibar Murphy, started the stronger of the two teams. They scored two points from play, before the opposition got a point back. Then after an accurate pass from Clive Lawlor, Joe Kelly made no mistake as his shot found the back of the net. Bannow Ballymitty responded with 3 points before Brendan Larkin converted a free, leaving us in a comfortable position on the cusp of half time,  Then a dubious decision by the referee awarded a penalty for Bannow which was well converted leaving the half time score 1-3 to 1-4 in favour of the visitors.

On the resumption and playing with the wind, Shels started to gain momentum and Conor Walsh, who had been introduced for the injured Tommy Barron, was the first to point, followed by another from Clive Lawlor (f) and a second by the impressive Conor Walsh. Bannow got a point at this time also, leaving the sides level.  Then a sweet pass from Joe Kelly found the boot of Brian O’Connor who rattled the back of the net. Further points from Alan Griffith, Brian O’Connor and Conor Walsh sealed the game and Bannow Ballymitty had no answer for the Shels who were improving by the minute.

Final score 2-8 to 1-5.

Best for the Shels, with a good team performance all round were Brian Malone who was outstanding, the impressive Connor Walsh, Alan Griffith and Joe Kelly

                Ciaran Murphy

Niall Kelly   Aaron Watters  Connor Shaughnessy

Ciaran Shaughnessy Clive Lawlor Andre O’Brien

          Brian Malone     Tommy Barron

James Murphy   Alan Griffith   Eoin Doyle

Brendan Larkin  Joe Kelly  Thomas Byrne

Subs used:
Brian O’Connor for Thomas Byrne, Conor Walsh for Tommy Barron (inj)
David Kenny for Brendan Larkin