Good performances by minor football teams.

 A point from Brian O Connor and a goal from Joe Kelly put the Shels into an early lead.

Minor football championship in Hollymount.
Gorey 2-7.   Shelmaliers 2-7.

A below- strength Shelmalier minor football first team got off to a sluggish start in their championship match against Gorey in Hollymount on Wednesday evening last. A point from Brian O Connor and a goal from Joe Kelly put the Shels into an early lead, but Gorey hit back with a number of well taken scores, to leave the Shels leading by a single point at the interval. Gorey started the brighter in the second half with a goal and two points. But the Shels hit back and regained the lead with their own point and goal from Brian Doyle and Benny Barron. However, Gorey succeeded in getting the last score of the game to leave the sides tied at the final whistle.
Scorers for the Shelmaliers Shane Murphy 0-4, Brian O Connor 0-1, Joe Kelly1-0, Brian Doyle 1-0, Niall Stafford 0-1, and Benny Barron 0-1. Those who performed very well on the day were Ciaran O Shaughnessy, Andre O Brien and Aaron Watters in defense and Joe Kelly, Shane Murphy, Conor Walsh and Eoin Doyle in attack.
                                   Ciaran Murphy.
Benny Barron            Aaron Watters            Anthony Hall
Andre O Brien        Ciaran O Shaughnessy  Stuart Lacey
               Conor Walsh Niall Stafford
Kevin O Leary          Eoin Doyle                 Brian O Connor
Brian Doyle               Joe Kelly                   Shane Murphy

The minor football second team traveled to Ballymurn on the same evening and had a great 7-10 to 4-6 win to qualify for the county semi final. This was achieved with a great team display of teamwork by all concerned and great credit goes to all the players. Scorers for the Shels were Fergal Hynes, Brian Tobin, Eoin McMahon, Padraic Scully, James Gordan, Shane O Connor, Sean Walsh and Liam Donnolly. The Shelmaliers scorers on the day were Fergal Hynes 0-3, Brian Tobin 0-2, Eoin McMahon 2-1, Padraig Scully 1-2, James Gordan 1-1, Sean Walsh 1-0 and Liam Donnelly 1-0.
There were good performances from Liam Donnelly, Conor O Neill, Brian Tobin, Chris Kehoe, Shane O Connor, Eoin McMahon, Padraig Scully and Keith Kehoe.
                                            Conor O Neill.
Jimmer Doyle                      Keith Kehoe                    David Ryan
Liam Donnelly                     James Gordan                 Chris Kehoe
                        Shane O Connor Brian Tobin
Conor Hynes                       Eoin McMahon                 Padraig Scully