Blackwater too strong for Junior footballers.

Blackwater dominated the game from start to finish.

Date: Sat 30th June                       Venue: Hollymount. 
                              Opponents: Blackwater.

Competition:     Division 1A League Final.
Full time score: (Shels)   0-8            (Opp.)  3-10

This was Blackwater’s first team against the Shelmaliers second team. Blackwater were in more determined form the start and had the Shels under instant pressure. Ciaran O’Shaughnessy, Colm Tynan and Colm Parker (goal) did some great defending and kept the Shels in the game. But Blackwater were always on top at half back, mid field and half forward and managed to score two goals before half time. The half time score was Shelmaliers 0-5 Blackwate 2-6 with, D. Malone 0-2, M. Kelly 0-1,
 Ciaran O’Shaughnessy 0-1 and Colin Redmond 0-1 (free) on the scoreboard for the home team.

In the second half the Shels had the wind in their favour and started to mount some pressure. Denis Kelly, now at wing back, made some very good attacks and Paudie Quill gave some good support. However our mid-fields and half forwards were having very little impact on the game with Barry O’Connor scoring 0-3 from frees. Eoin Doyle and Brian O’Connor added a lot in attack with O’Connor coming very close for a goal. With Blackwater defending and attacking in packs and with their determined effort they were the deserving winners by 0-8 to 3-10. Ciaran O’Shaughnessy, Colm Tynan, Barry O’Connor, Denis Kelly and Paudie Quill put in a great effort for the Shels in this game.

Shelmaliers Vs.Blackwater.        Competition: League Final.

Team Line out.
C. Parker
Ciaran O’Shaughnessy C. Tynan Conor O’Shaughnessy
Ml Kingston Denis Kelly Jay Morris
  Dessie Kehoe Darren Malone
Colin Redmond Graham Power Chris Gordon
Seamus Harding Barry O’Connor Ml Kelly

Replacements: Paudie Quill for J. Morris (inj),
Eoin Doyle for M. Kingston, Tommy Moore for D, Malone and Brian O’Connor for Chris Gordon.


Subs not used:      Gary Bridges, Niall Cullen, Darren Shiggins, Keith Devereux, Conor Byrne, Joe Kelly, James Murphy,
John McGrath, Cathal O’Shaughnessy, Brendan Larkin and David Shiggins