Shels are league Champions 2015

Shelmalier senior hurlers were crowned division 1 league hurling champions, 2015 when they defeated Faythe Harriers by 1-17 to 0-9 in Wexford Park on Fri last.

This match was also the championship match between the sides so it was double celebrations at the end of the match as Captain Joe Kelly collected the league cup and two valuable points in the championship qualification. As Captain Joe Kelly led by example contributing a total of 12 points to his team’s final total, however, there were many other fine performances from all the Shelmalier players on the night. The Shelmaliers were quickly off the mark and had four unanswered point from Joe Kelly before the Harriers got their first score in the 10th minute. The Shelmaliers stretched their lead when Paraic O Leary finished the ball to the Harriers net after great interplay from the black and amber side. Leading by 1-8 to 0-6 at half time the Shelmaliers continued their domination in the second half to run out winners by 1-17 to 0-9 with Joe Kelly, Brian Doyle, Paraic O Leary, Benny Barron and Ciaran O Shaughnessy on the score board for the Shelmaliers.