U21 Footballers Report

U21F Semi Final Shelmaliers 4-8 Sarsfields 2-8 (FT), Goals from Craig McCabe, Tony Smith Kevin O’Connor and Eoghan Nolan. Well done to all the team.

The Shelmalier Under 21 footballers qualified for a county final meeting with Fethard following a 4-8 to 2-8 victory over the Sarsfields in the semi final played in Pairc Charman on Saturday last. Both Fethard and the Shelmaliers will be familiar with each other as the same teams met in the minor final three years ago with the black and amber men winning on that occasion. The Shelmaliers were slow to get into the game in Parc Charman allowing the Sarsfields to dictate the early play and this was reflected on the score board when the Wexford town side led by 1-2 to 0-1 after 15 minutes. However, once the Shelmaliers got going they showed great interchanging of play resulting in four unanswered goals from Kevin O Connor, Craig McCabe, Eoghan Nolan and Tony Smith which left a half time score line of Shelmaliers 4-1 Sarsfields 1-3.

The Shelmaliers continued their dominance of the game on the resumption with further points from Paraic O Leary, Tony Smith and Kevin O Connor giving the Shelmaliers a three goal lead after 12 minutes of play 4-4 to 1-4. As the game entered the second period of the second half the Sarsfields began to get back into the game, pressurising on the Shels defence, however, Simon Donohoe, Eoin Fitzgerald, Shane Birney and Aaron Murphy were outstanding during this period of play. Three unanswered points from the Wexford town side gave them great confidence and when they scored their second goal in the 25th minute leaving the game moved from end to end. The Shelmaliers show their true character in the closing five minutes with points from Craig McCabe (2) and Kevin O Connor giving their side a 4-8 to 2-8 victory as the referee blew the final whistle.

Team Shane Birney, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Graham Staples, Aaron Murphy, Paraic O Leary, Simon Donohoe, Neal Rossiter, James Cash, AJ Lehane, Eoghan Nolan, Adam Whitmore, Tony Smith, Kevin O Connor, Craig McCabe and Jody Donohoe. Subs used Enda Cloake, Danial Murphy, Eoin O Leary and Colin Cleary. Other subs Jack Murphy, Joe Redmond, Glen Murphy, Aodhan Foley and Cian Manley