Taghmon pip Juniors in Qtr Final

Our junior hurlers just came up just short Sun evening 1-15 to 0-14 against Taghmon/Camross’s first team in the championship quarter final.

Strong performances by Denis Kelly, Glen Malone, Arnie Murphy and Shane Birney with Feargal Hynes having a good impact when introduced.

Taghmon pip Shelmalier Junior hurlers in quarter final clash.

 This exciting junior hurling quarter final clash between Taghmon and the Shelmaliers played in Oylegate on Sunday last was a close affair right down to the final whistle, with Taghmon prevailing on a final score line of 1-15 to 0-14. There was only a single point between the sides as the game entered the last 10 minutes of play as the Shelmaliers showed great determination to get back into the game in the closing stages. However, Taghmon scored the last three point of the play to win by a four point margin. The Shelmaliers started brightly when they led by four points 0-1 to 0-5 after ten minutes, with sharpshooter Shane Birney firing over four great scores and Stephen Whelan adding a fine individual point from close range. A goal for Taghmon in the 11th minute fired on their side resulting in a further six unanswered points to leave the Shels trailing by 0-5 to 1-8 as the game entered the last five minutes of the half. The Shelmaliers did rally in the closing stages of the first half with two fine points from Paraic O Leary and a Shane Birney free to leave a half time score of Taghmon 1-9 to Shelmaliers 0-7.

The second half was a very closely fought contest with both sides showing some fine skillful hurling with Mick Kelly, Barry O Connor, Cathal Gaule, Eoghan Fitzgerald and Denis Kelly in defense, Glen Malone and Paraic O Leary in mid field showing some determined stick work to foil the Taghmon attacks. The Shelmaliers matched score for score in the third quarter with Shane Birney again in fine shooting form with three further scores. When Feargal Hynes, John Campbell and Noel Mythen scored three great points it left the minimum one point margin between the sides to the delight of the Shels supporters. However, the Shelmaliers had a number of scorable chances to level matters in the closing stages, but to no avail, as Taghmon got a late momentum to win by a four point margin and progress to the county semi final.  


Team Mick Kelly, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Kevin O Leary, Barry O Connor, Cathal Gaule, James Gordon, Denis Kelly, Glen Malone, Aaron Murphy, Conor Tobin, Paraic O Leary, Jodie Donohoe, Shane Birney, Noel Mythen and Stephen Whelan. Subs Feargal Hynes, John Campbell, Joe Redmond, Eoin O Leary, Darren Malone, Michael Feeney, Sean Byrne, Graham Staples, Cian Manley  and Seamie Harding.