All-Ireland Camogie Champs

When we captured the national sevens crown with six superb victories Saturday at the Kilmacud Sevens!

This victory was the first-ever All-Ireland title to come to our proud club, established in 1960, after enduring defeat in no fewer than nine finals across various grades:  The Senior club championship in 2002, sevens cup finals in 2004, 2005 and last year, the sevens shield in 1996, the Under-14 Feile na nGael in 1990 and 1994, and the Community Games in 1989 and 1992.  The path to collecting Corn Prionsias O Croinin was a tough one, but we are renowned far and wide for our indomitable spirit along with skill and teamwork.  All of these qualitities and a little more besides combined to make it a truly wonderful day and one that we won’t forget in a hurry.

Yesterday’s action summarised:  First game at 11.20 am a victory over Adare Limerick 7-6 to 1-1 in Glenalbyn, scores Katrina Parrock (2-2), Bridget Curran (2-0), Michelle Murphy (1-2), Shauna Kelly (1-1), Michelle Hearne (1-0) and Kate Kelly (0-1).

Second game a victory over Sarsfields Galway 8-4 to 6-3, scores Kate Kelly (2-2), Katrina Parrock (2-1), Michelle Hearne (2-0), Michelle Murphy (1-1) and Anne-Marie Kelly (1-0).

Third game of the group victory over Lucan Sarsfields Dublin 7-6 to 3-2, scores an incredible 6-1 from Katrina Parock, Kate Kell (0-2), Mag Kelly (0-2) and Michelle Murphy (0-1). 

Advancing to the Quarter-final another victory over St Vincent’s Marino Dublin 5-3 to 2-2 Katrina Parrock (1-1), Bridget Curran (2-0), Kate Kelly (2-1) and Anne-Marie Kelly (0-1).

Then advancing to the semi-final meeting Rathnure Wexford, came another victory 7-11 to 6-10, scorers:  Katrina Parrock (5-5), Michelle Murphy (2-1), Mag Kelly (0-3), Bridget Curran (0-1) and Kate Kelly (0-1).

Next up the final at 6.15 pm against Oulart-The Ballagh Wexford concluding with a fantastic victory, scorers Kate Kelly (2-2), Michelle Murphy (2-0), Katrina Parrock (1-2) and Anne-Marie Kelly (0-1).

All ten St Ibar’s/Shelmalier players contributed hugely to the success during the day, with the eight scorers joined by last year’s captain Ciara Donohoe and Eadaoin Fitzgerald.  They were accompanied by team manager Alan Aherne, mentors John Furlong, John Kelly and Fionnuala Hearne, plus a loyal army of supporters young and not so young!

Mag Kelly was presented with Corn Prionsias O Croinin by Aileen Lawlor, National President, and bearing those awesome scoring stats in mind, it came as no surprise when the player of the tournament accolade as captured by Katrina Parrock. 

Congratulations to all it is a fantastic achievement! Ibar’s Abu!