Junior hurlers V Ramsgrage- Report

JHC Shelmaliers 3-9 Ramsgrange 1-14 (FT) Shels by a point Both teams through to quarter finals

Shelmalier Junior hurlers qualifies for county quarter final.

There was a tense conclusion to this ‘must win’ 5th round junior hurling championship match between the Shelmaliers and St. James Ramsgrange played in Taghmon on Friday evening last, with the black and amber winning by the narrowest of margins 3-9 to 1-14 to qualify for the quarter finals of the competition. Playing against a strong wind the Shelmaliers got off to positive start with three points from Shane Birney (2) and Jody Donohoe in the first 8 minutes of play. Ramsgrange soon replied with 4 unanswered points to lead by 0-3 to 0-5 after 20 minutes and they extended their lead with another four points before half time. The Shelmaliers finished strongly with a late goal from Conor Tobin to leave a half time score of Shelmaliers 1-4 Ramsgrange 0-9.

Ramsgrange extended their lead on the resumption with their first goal after 2 minutes. However, the Shelmaliers soon replied with points from Noel Mythen and Shane Birney before Jodie Donohoe got his teams second goal from close range in the `10th minute. The Shelmalier supporters had more to shout about in the 15th minute when Noel Mythen got Shelmaliers third goal with Shane Birney adding two further free to leave a score line of Shelmaliers 3-6 Ramsgrange 1-10. Ramsgrange wouldn’t finished when they scored additions points in the 18th and 20th minutes to level the scores and ensure an exciting and tense final 10 minutes. Three Shane Birney well taken frees pushed the Shelmaliers over the winning line as Ramsgrange tried to get the all important third point during this period, however a well marshalled  Shelmalier defence where Kevin O Leary, Denis Kelly and Eoghan Fitzgerald played their hearts out held out for a famous victory. With results in other games going in our favour we now qualify for the count y quarter finals in the near future.

Team Mick Kelly, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Kevin O Leary, Barry O Connor, Cathal Gaule, James Gordon, Denis Kelly, Glen Malone, Aaron Murphy, Conor Tobin, Noel Mythen, Paraic O Leary, Jodie Donohoe, Shane Birney and Stephen Whelan. Subs Graham Staples, Fergal Hynes, Darren Malone, Eoin O Leary, Emmet O Leary, Shamie Harding, Neal Rossiter, Joe Redmond and Cian Manley.