Senior Football V St. Anne’s

Our senior footballers lost by the smallest of margins to St. Anne’s in the championship this evening 0-14 to 0-13.

Shelmaliers were quickest off the mark with Eoghan Nolan going close in the opening moments of the game. Brian Doyle and Simon Donohoe both pointed inside the first 4 minutes and St. Anne’s got on the board moments later. The impressive Donohoe added another point with Craig McCabe bringing Shels tally to 4. St. Anne’s got into their rhythm then and added 3 points (2 frees) to bring the sides level at 4-4 each with 20 minutes gone. Simon Donohoe after a good run was on target again for Shels yet again St. Anne’s levelled matters. Tommy Barron again put Shels ahead only for St. Anne’s to reply. However it was to be St. Anne’s all the way to the break with them drawing clear by 3 at half time 09-06.

St. Anne’s stretched the lead to 4 before McCabe narrowed the gap back to one with three excellent points (1F). Captain Brian Malone brought the sides level for the umpteenth time of the game, but St. Anne’s then hit three unanswered points. 0-13 to 0-10. Simon Donohoe went close to taking the only major of the game but the shot just went wide. Craig McCabe pointed from a placed ball before full back Eoin Doyle after great work slotted over a fantastic point to bring the sides to within one again. 0-13 to 0-12. Shels hopes of a draw seemed likely when Craig McCabe had a chance to equalise the sides but the free from an awkward angle and from distance just barely went wide. St. Anne’s and Shels traded points just on full time with the hard working and effective Aidan Cash grabbing Shels last score. Final score 0-14 to 0-13 in favour of St. Anne’s.

Amongst those to shine were Aidan Cash, Simon Donohoe, Brian Malone and Eoin Doyle with the 6 backs being particularly strong on the day.
Team: Shane Birney, Ciaran O’Shaughnessy, Eoin Doyle (0-1), Andre O’Brien, Tommy Barron (0-1), Aidan Murphy, Graham Staples, Brian Malone (0-1), Ibar Murphy, Eoghan Nolan, Simon Donohoe (0-3), Brian Doyle (0-1), Aidan Cash (0-1), Liam Donnelly, Craig McCabe (0-5, 2F). Subs used Alan Griffith, Derek Walsh and Barry O’Connor.