Strictly Club Dancing 2013

DMcgWhites Hotel was packed for the exciting final of the 2013 Shelmalier Strictly Club Dancing competition on Saturday night last.

With twelve couples competing for the coveted title, naturally competition was fierce and the standard of dancing from each couple was top class. When the audience and the judges had cast their votes for their favourite performance MC for the night Aidan O Leary announce that Paul Tobin and Anna Thompson were the judge’s choice with Joe Kelly and Ciara Neville in second place with the audience and the 2013 Shelmalier Dancing champions were Chris Gordon and Deirdre McMahon. All three couples will now go forward to represent the Shelmaliers in the 2013 County Strictly Club Dancing Final against both Glynn and the Volunteers in Whites Hotel on Saturday 9th November. If last Saturday night is anything to go by there will be great demand for tickets for the county final on 9th Nov. Therefore,  you are encouraged to contact as soon as possible John Banville, Kathleen Lacey or Larry O Shaughnessy  in Screen, Austin Hearne, Aine Donohoe or Noel Feeney  in Curracloe and Aidan O Leary, Martin Doyle or Colm Flanagan is Castlebridge to book your tickets for this event. The Shelmaliers would like to sincerely thank everybody who supported last Sat nights dancing event and special thanks to chief organiser Angela Griffith and dancing tutors Yvonne Busher and Declan Flanagan. Hair & Make up Sharon Carr, MC Aidan O’Leary, Judges George Lawlor, Kathleen (Kak) Redmond and Liam Spratt. Music Nigel & Breda Quaid. Clare Murphy (Irish Dancing tuition), Chairman Seamus O’Leary, the hard working strictly committee of John Banville (Floor Manager), Austin Hearne, Aidan O’Leary, Andy O’Brien along with all other senior and coiste committee members who gave so generously of their time to make this show such a success. There are too many of you to mention for fear of leaving anyone out, you know who you are, the doormen, the vote counters, the finance team, the vote sellers, the list goes on and on.Special thanks to Niall Cash for singing at the interval and Colm Hearne, Myles Doyle, PJ Shiggins, Conor (Bomber) Byrne, Conor Tobin and Aidan Cash for the sexy six with John Kelly, Colm Hearne, Myles Doyle and Conor Byrne the stars of the sketch. Well done one and all.