Senior hurlers through to Semi Finals

After a close and exciting game Shelmaliers did just enough to go through 0-22 to 0-20 after extra time.

Brian Murphy saved the Shels on several occasions with Stephen Banville, Clive Lawler-Ryan, Eoin Doyle and Brian Malone giving great performances. An all round good team effort.

Shels were slow to start as St. Anne’s with the wind hit 4 points without reply and but for net minder Brian Murphy they could have had a goal added to their early tally. Stephen Banville stopped the flow with a fine point and Ciaran O’Shaughnessy pointed moments later. Shels were digging in deep and   courtesy of points from Conor Byrne, Eoin Doyle  and Tommy Barron and fine team work Shels had to be the happier of the two sides going into the break level at 9 points each. For the second half there was again little to separate the sides. Shels with points from Conor Byrne (5,4F, 1, 65’) and Stephen Banville (2) forged a two point advantage with 3 minutes remaining. However the Anne’s were far from done and forced the side’s level for the umpteen time that day.  In extra time Shels had wind advantage again but it was St. Anne’s who had all the possession and who had 4 wides in the opening 3 minutes of extra time. It was Shels Tommy Barron who opened the scoring in extra time with St. Anne’s’ replying instantly.  Stephen Banville then added a great point from distance to put Shels one ahead at the break. 0-20 to 0-19. St. Anne’s now with wind advantage quickly levelled matters again. However, Conor Byrne with a late free and the on form Joe Kelly a point in the closing minutes did enough to send Shels through to the Co. Semi-final where they will either meet Glynn/Barntown, Oulart/The Ballagh or Ferns. This will be an open draw.
Team: Brian Murphy, Andre O’Brien, Aidan Murphy, Shane Griffith, Aidan Cash, Clive Lawler-Ryan, Conor Walsh, Eoin Doyle, John Redmond, Brian Malone. Ciaran O’Shaughnessy (C), Joe Kelly, Tommy Barron, Stephen Banville, Conor Byrne.. Subs introduced. Brian Doyle, Simon Donohoe and Stephen Corrigan.