Junior Hurlers overcome Gusserane

cwOur junior hurlers had a solid win today over Gusserane in Taghmon in the championship. 2-13 to 0-12.

Great second half performance by Shels Junior hurlers:
Shelmalier Junior hurlers had a great 2-13 to 0-12 victory over Gusserane played in Taghmon on Sunday last. The Shelmaliers were show to get into the game which allowed Gusserane to lead by 0-5 to 0-1 after 12 minutes with the point coming from Willie O Shaughnessy. However, a Neal Rossiter goal in the 15th minute spurred on his team with Shane Birney adding two further points to leave the sides tied at 1-3 to 0-6 after 20 minutes. Kevin O Leary puts the side’s level again with a well taken point in the 23rd minute and the Shels supporters had a big cheer when Chris Gordon got his side’s second goal as the clock ticked down for half time. Willie O Shaughnessy added his side’s last score of the half to leave a half time score of 2-5 to 0-9 in favour of the black and amber team.
The Shelmaliers came out with all guns blazing with three quick points from Neal Rossiter, Chris Gordon and Shane Birney to extend their teams lead in the first 10 minutes. During this passage of play the Shelmaliers had great performances from goalie William Redmond, backs Eoghan Fitzgerald, Stephen Whelan, Denis Kelly and Cathal Gaule and forwards Chris Gordon, Neal Rossiter, Emmet O Leary, Kevin O Leary and William O Shaughnessy. As the game entered the last quarter the Shelmaliers continued their dominance with further points from Shane Birney (3) and Glen Malone. As the game came to the end Shelmaliers took full control of mid field with Ciaran Walsh and Glen Malone leading their team forward to leave a comfortable win by 2-13 to 0-12.
Team William Redmond, Stephen Whelan, Darren Malone, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Cathal Gaule, Denis Kelly, Conor Tobin, Ciaran Walsh, Glen Malone, William O Shaughnessy, Emmet O Leary, Chris Gordon, Neal Rossiter, Kevin O Leary and Shane Birney. Subs Eoin O Leary for Conor Tobin, also Sean Byrne, Garry Breslin, Aaron Murphy, Mick Kelly and Brian Kehoe.