Senior Footballers lose by smllest margin

Our senior footballers having led until the 58 minute conceded two late points to leave final score -12 to-11 in Newbawn this evening, in the league.

Shels senior footballers travelled to Newbawn to meet Adamstown in the league. Shels fielding a relatively young team and only having 16 players got off to a great start courtesy of Conor Byrne (F) and Tommy Barron.  Stephen Carr was unlucky not to get on the scoreboard moments later. Derek Walsh was also denied as his shot came back off the upright. Shels added two more courtesy of Tommy Barron and Derek Walsh (F) before Adamstown managed to open their account. Shels tagged on 3 more minors coming to half time, Conor Byrne (F), Tommy Barron and Aidan Murphy whilst Adamstown tagged on a free to leave the half time score -07 to -02 in favour of Shels. Adamstown came out for the new half all guns blazing and hit 3 points without reply in the opening 3 minutes. They then closed the gap to two points before Aidan Murphy offloaded to Conor Byrne to stem the flow and get Shels back on the board. The same two players tagged on two more points to put daylight between the sides again -10 to -05 before Adamstown came back at Shels with 3 scores in 6 minutes. Minor James Cash, working hard pointed to keep 3 between the sides with 9 mins to go. However our hard working seniors were feeling the strain of having played a hurling tournament 24 hours earlier and that coupled with a rising wind in favour of Adamstown meant Shels had nothing in reserve to stop Adamstown final onslaught where they hit 4 minors in the closing 7 minutes to win by the smallest of margins -12 to -11.
Everyone played  their hearts out on the night with Captain Aidan Murphy, Tommy Barron Alan Griffith and Conor Byrne standing up to the challenge on behalf of the seniors with Barry O’Connor & youngster Eoghan Nolan giving a fantastic display in the middle of the field well supported by his minor colleagues, Graham Staples, James Cash, Simon Donohoe and Eoghan Fitzgerald. Defence was ably manned by stalwarts Dre O’Brien & Graham Lawler. Eoin O’Leary gave fresh impetus to the game when introduced & was involved in many attacks on goal.
 Team: Padraig McMahon, Simon Donohoe, Graham Lawler, Graham Staples, Andre O’Brien, Tommy Barron (0-3), Eoghan Nolan, Barry O’Connor, Stephen Carr, Aidan Murphy (Capt.) (-02), Alan Griffith, James Cash (0-1), Conor Byrne (0-4,2F), Derek Walsh (0-1). Sub Eoin O’Leary.