U21’s knocked out by Oulart Report

Our gallant U21 Hurling team were knocked out by Oulart/The Ballagh in the replay of the U21 Hurling championship. Report

Shels met Oulart in the replay of the U21 Hurling championship in Oulart last Sat morning in what was arguably the best day of the year so far weather-wise. Simon Donohoe opened Shels account with a pointed free. Oulart equalised soon after and Shels keeper Brian (Turf) Murphy was quick to clear a dangerous ball moments later.  Stephen Corrigan and Feargal Hynes both added points to put Shels ahead -03 to -01 after 10 mins. Oulart clawed 3 back before good work in mid field and by Eoghan Nolan seen a great ball sent to corner forward Johnny Campbell who made no mistake in blasting to the back of the net. Both sides exchanged points in the closing mins of the first half with Shane Birney proving the score for Shels. Half time score 1-4 to 0-05. Feargal Hynes pointed for Shels early on the resumption after an accurate pass from Shane Griffith; however Oulart enjoyed the spoils for the next 10 mins amassing 5 points without reply. Shane Birney converted 2 frees to put Shels level with Oulart. Eoghan Nolan with a fine score put Shels ahead 1-8 to -10. Again Oulart dug deep and tagged on 2 more to put daylight between the sides. Feargal Hynes then pulled off the stroke of the game with a superb back flip from a great Niall Murphy pass and only for the quick reaction of the Oulart keeper it might have been a goal. The sides were back level for the numerous times. Stephen Corrigan pointed to put Shels one ahead before disaster struck as Oulart majored in the closing minutes of the game. Brian Murphy added a late free to bring one back between the sides 1-11 to 1-12. Shels had a couple of late opportunities to equalise in the generous time added but sadly failed to do so on the day. Brian Murphy in goal had another fantastic game and can always be relied on. The full back line of James Cash, Conor Tobin and the young Glen Malone was well manned all day. The half back line Niall Murphy, Simon Donohoe and Neal Rossiter gave no quarter and kept the ball moving well. Midfield was well taken care of by the old men of the team Shane Griffith and Aidan Cash and a great supply of ball was delivered to the forwards. Another veteran, Feargal Hynes was manning the centre forward position and was a candidate for man of the match and he was well supported on the half forward line by the on form Eoghan Nolan and Shane Birney. The full forward line was well taken care of by Sean Byrne and two more veterans of the team Stephen Corrigan and Johnny Campbell. Sub Eoin O’Leary was immediately to the fore in the game when introduced.

Team: 1.Brian (Turf) Murphy (0-1F), 2. James Cash, 3. Conor Tobin, 4. Glen Malone, 5. Niall Murphy, 6. Simon Donohoe (0-1), 7. Neal Rossiter, 8. Aidan Cash, 9. Shane Griffith, 10.Eoghan Nolan (0-1), 11.Feargal Hynes (0-3), 12. Shane Birney (0-3F), 13. Sean Byrne, 14.Stephen Corrigan (0-2), 15. Johnny Campbell (1-0). Sub introduced. Eoin O’Leary.