Minors overcome Crossabeg

Shelmalier minor footballers overcome Crossabeg/Ballymurn.

These two near neighbours clashed in the third round of the minor football championship in Hollymount on Saturday last with the home team winning by 3-12 to 1-12 after an exciting and entertaining match. The Shels were first of the mark with Neil Rossiter pointing from a free after 5 min. and Stephen McGuire extended the lead a minute later. Crossabeg soon replied with two points of their own as the game entered the second quarter. There was a tremendous challenge in mid field and half back lines where James Cash and Graham Staples in midfield and Conor Forde, Eoghan Nolan and Kevin Byrne showed some great still and determination. The Shelmaliers extended their lead with further points from Kevin O Connor (2) and Adam Whitmore, before a great move up field resulted in Stephen McGuire raising the green flag for his team. Half time score 1-7 to 0-5. The Shelmaliers continued as the finished the first half with Stephen McGuire pointing and Tony Smyth scoring his team’s second goal after good work by Adam Whitmore. The visitors then upped their pay scoring 1-4 in a ten minute spell; however, great defending by Sean Byrne, Simon Donohoe, Glen Malone and Eoghan Fitzgerald kept the Crossabeg forwards at bay for long periods. The Shelmaliers resumed their free flowing pattern of play as the game entered its last quarter which saw Colin Cleary scoring his sides’ third goal and further points from Kevin O Connor, Graham Staples and Adam Whitmore, resulting in a final score of 3-12 to 1-12 in favour of the home team.
Team: Sean Byrne, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Simon Donohoe, Glen Malone, Kevin Byrne, Eoghan Nolan, Conor Forde, James Cash, Graham Staples, Neil Rossiter, Kevin O Connor, Stephen McGuire, Colin Cleary, Adam Whitmore and Tony Smyth. Subs used  Evan Deveraux, Mark Mythen and John Forde.