Shels win a record 6th Jim Byrne Title

Shels made history today by capturing a 6th successive title in the Jim Byrne tournament.

Well done to our minor footballers who captured a 6th Jim Byrne title in a row. Starlights made a strong start but 2 Tony Smith goals steadied the ship after good work by Kevin O’Connor & Stephen McGuire put the on form Smith through. Goalie Sean Byrne saved the Shels on several occasions  whilst  Neal Rossiter (Capt), Simon Donohoe (man of the match), Adam Whitmore, James Cash, Graham Staples as senior players led by example. Score 3-09 to 3-06. We wish Eoghan Nolan a speedy recovery from his injury. TEAM: Sean Byrne, Glen Malone, Simon Donohoe, Eoin O’Leary, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Eoghan Nolan, Evan Devereux, James Cash, Graham Staples, Stephen McGuire, Adam Whitmore, Colin Cleary, Neal Rossiter, (C), Tony Smith, Kevin O’Connor. Subs Kevin Byrne for Eoghan Nolan inj. Panel: John Forde, Conor Forde, Conor Howlin, Stephen Carr, Aaron Ryan, Aaron Murphy, Jody Donohoe, & Mark Mythen. Selectors: Bob Staples, John Nolan, Seamus O’Leary.