Jim Byrne team througt to Final

The Shelmalier under 18 footballers reached the final of the Jim Byrne Cup with a 2-13 to 1-5 victory over near neighbours Crossabeg Ballymurn played in Ballymurn on Sunday last.

The Shels boys meant business right from the start with a spirited and determined performance throughout the full hour of the match. From the throw in the Shelmaliers began the move the ball effectively from the backline to the forwards and with full forward line of John Forde, Tony Smith and the roving Neal Rossiter causing all kinds of problems for the Crossabeg defenders. Early frees for Neal Rossiter and Stephen McGuire and a Graham Staples point from play ensured the black and amber led 0-3 to no score after ten minutes. Full forward Tony Smith fired to the back of the net from a breaking high ball in the 15th minute to extent his teams lead. The Shelmaliers half forward line of Colin Cleary, Adam Whitmore and Stephen McGuire began dominating and dictating the play as the game entered its second quarter and Neal Rossiter converting the resulting 3 frees and as the first half came to a close Graham Staples and Neal Rossiter scored two further points from play to leave a half time score of 1-8 to no score. The mid field pairing of Graham Staples and James Cash showed their fielding ability as the game resumes with James Cash and Neal Rossiter extending the Shels lead with two fine points. Crossabeg were thrown a life line after 10 minutes of the resumption with a goal and 2 point in quick succession but the Shels full back line of Sean Byrne, Eoin O Leary, Simon Donohoe and Glen Malone steadied the ship and the half back line of Evan Deveraux, Eoghan Nolan and Eoghan Fitzgerald took control of that area of the field as the game entered the final quarter. The last quarter was evenly matched as both teams made replacements to tiring legs and one of these subs Aaron Ryan pointed from 40 yards shortly after entering the field. Concluding points from Tony Smith and Neal Rossiter left a final score line of 2-13 to 1-5 in favour of the Shelmaliers. They now go through to the Jim Byrne County final which is  fixed for Sunday week 12th February, please come along and support the team in the final.


Sean Byrne, Eoin O Leary, Simon Donohoe, Glen Malone, Evan Deveraux, Eoghan Nolan, Eoghan Fitzgerald, James Cash, Graham Staples, Colin Cleary, Adam Whitmore, Stephen McGuire, John Forde, Tony Smyth and Neal Rossiter, Subs Conor Forde, Stephen Carr, Aaron Ryan, Kevin O Connor, Aaron Murphy, Jody Donohoe and Niall Cash.