U16 H draw V Rapps

Another great night’s entertainment in Hollymount as Shelmaliers (1-10) and the Rapparees (2-7) fought out a thrilling draw in the Juvenile Hurling Championship clash played in Hollymount on Monday 18th July.

Long time rivals of the Rapps it was the first time that this particular group of hurlers had managed to get anything from a clash with the stellar Enniscorthy outfit.

Firm favourites the Rapps weaved their way into an early lead with the talented Kevin Foley nipping inside the Shels defence for two early goals.   Gavin Potter “Big G” Malone and goalkeeper Stephen Maguire had to work hard to prevent the Rapps pulling further away.

However the Shels midfield started to get in to the game with Graham Staples and Kevin O’Connor starting to orchestrate the attack.   The Rapps defence found it hard to cope with the strong running of James “Casher” Cash and Eoinie Nolan and the Rapps defence conceded frees which Kevin O’Connor pointed.

Before the half time Shels received a tonic when John Forde scored an opportunistic goal thanks to good work from Aaron Ryan.

The Forde goal helped Shels to get level by the interval 1-5 to 2-2.

Both sides had their moments in the second half but with the Shels defence tightening up with “Nilly” Cash, “Dooley”, Aaron Murphy, young Joseph Redmond  and Conor Forde holding the fort there was little opportunity for the dangerous Rapps attack to prosper.

In the second half Evan Devereux and Daniel Murphy scored vital points but it was substitute Mikey Feeney who scored the last two points including the vital equaliser to give the Shels a deserved draw.

The final score was Shels 1-10 Rapparees 2-7


Stephen Maguire, Gavin Potter, Glenn Malone, Niall Cash, Conor Forde, Simon Dooley, Aaron Murphy, Graham Staples, Kevin O’Connor (0-4, 0-3 frees), Daniel Murphy (0-1), Eoghan Nolan (0-1), Evan Devereux (0-1), John Forde (1-0), Aaron Ryan, James Cash (0-1).


Mikey Feeney (0-2) for Aaron Ryan, Joseph Redmond for Gavin Potter, Conor Howlin, Aodan Foley, Aaron Hearne, Jody Donohoe, , Shane Neville