Cloughbawn overcome Shels

The Shelmalier senior hurling team took on Cloughbawn in the second round of this year’s championship in Enniscorthy on Friday night last.

Having overcome Ferns in the first round expectations were high and a large number of Shelmalier supporters attending the match. However, Cloughbawn had other ideas and they were quickly off the mark with two points after 2 minutes, with the Shels replying with points from Benny Barron and Brian Doyle.  Cloughbawn then had a golden period scoring 1-6 in the next fifteen minutes whilst a lone Joe Kelly point the only Shels score. The Shelmalier half forward line of inter county stars Stephen Banville, Brian Malone and Brian Doyle wasted a number of scoring opportunities as the first half progressed. Cloughbawn pressed their superiority and the Shelmaliers full back line of Brian Tobin, Aidan Murphy and Aidan Cash and half back line of Alan Griffith, Conor Walsh and Benny Barron came under sever pressure. The Shelmaliers response in the first half was from Joe Kelly 2(F) and Conor Walsh. The Shelmaliers were unlucky when a Joe Kelly goal was disallowed as it was judged as a square ball. Half time score 2-9 to 0-6. A sharp Shels response was expected in the second half; however Cloughbawn with the assistance of a stiff breeze continued to penetrate the Shels defence on a number of occasions resulting in 1-1 in the opening minutes. The Shels full forward line of Joe Kelly, Chris McGrath and Stephen Corrigan had a number of goal scoring chances early in the second half with a number hitting the side netting. The introduction of Clive Lawlor and Shane Griffith in the 45th minute, saw immediate results with Shane being taken down in the box, however, Joe Kelly failed to convert the resulting penalty. Shelmaliers second half scorers were Joe Kelly (2 F), James Gordon and Stephen Banville (0-1) and Brian Malone (1-0). The final score was Shelmaliers 1-10 Cloughbawn 4.11.

Team: Brian Murphy, Aidan Cash, Aidan Murphy, Brian Tobin, Alan Griffith, Conor Walsh (0-1), Benny Barron (0-1), Ciaran O’Shaughnessy, James Gordon (0-1), Brian Doyle (0-1), Brian Malone (1-0), Stephen Banville (0-1), Chris McGrath, Joe Kelly (0-5, 4F), Stephen Corrigan. Subs introduced: Clive Lawler and Shane Griffith.