3rd Team Hurling V St. Annes

The Shelmalier 3rd hurling team were in action on Tuesday evening last, 17th May, when they took on St Anne’s second string in the second round of the championship at hollymount.

The opening quarter was a hard fought tense affair with neither team gaining the upper hand as the scores were tied at 3 points each with the shels scores coming from 3 pointed frees by William Redmond. However in the second quarter St Anne’s upped the tempo and scored another five points without reply to leave the half time score Shels 0-3 St Anne’s 0-8.

In the opening fifteen minutes of the second half the shels began to hurl with more confidence & assurity and brought the score back to within 3 points going into the last quarter due to the accurate free taking of James Murphy before the St Anne’s hit a purple spell and notched over a further 3 points to leave the shels 6 points adrift with ten minutes remaining. The last ten was completely dominated by the shels and after intense pressure they got their just reward with a James Shiggins goal with two minutes remaining to trail by just 3 points. The shels were relentless in their surge to get a goal but on the night they were to be denied by some staunch defending by St Anne’s with the score finishing Shels 1-8 St Anne’s 0-14.Shels were best served on the night by Declan Murphy in goal , James Murphy  Clive Lawlor & James Shiggins.
1. Declan Murphy
2. Graham Lawlor
3. Colm Hearne
4. Jonathan Breslin
5. Brian O Shaughnessy
6. James Murphy
7. Shane O Conor
8. Clive Lawlor
9. James Shiggins
10.William Redmond
11. Terry Gainfort
12. Craig Potter
13. Paddy Kelly
14. Paraic Coen
15. Philip Walsh
Sub Keith Drennan for Paddy Kelly