Minor Footballers lose to Greystones

ajcraigA late challenge yielding 1-2 was not enough to overcome an eager Greystones side and Shelmaliers bowed out of this Leinster league on a score line 2-6 to 2-5.

Shelmalier Minor Football team bowed out of the Leinster Club Championship on Saturday night last when they went under by a single point to Wicklow Champions Eire Og from Greystones in Carlow on a score line of 2:6 to 2:5. Despite fielding without a number of the team that recently won the Wexford championship due to unavailability and injury, our boys started brightly and led by 2 points after 6 minutes. Then however the Greystones lads took over and thanks to a fortuitous goal led by 1:4 to 3pts at half time. The start of the second half finished pretty much as the first had ended with the Shels having lots of possession  but the Wicklow boys putting the scores on the board and by the mid point of the new half all looked dead and buried for the our boys as they trailed by 2-6 to 4pts. However, as they showed many times during this most successful season, this team has something inside the jersey that most others don’t have as they powered back into the game with pure heart and determination. Thanks to goals from a Craig McCabe penalty and an Aidan Cash effort and a Feargal Hynes point from a placed ball with time almost up the lead was down to a single point. In injury time James Gordon, who was outstanding despite carrying a serious knee injury, had possession and a chance to force the game into extra time but just as he was about to pull the trigger he was brilliantly dispossessed by a Wicklow defender. With this chance went our hopes of progressing but there is no doubt that the Minor team of 2010 will go down in the history books of our club as one of our greatest group of Underage players ever to wear the black and amber. Best on the night were Stephen Corrigan and Shane Griffith in defence, Aidan Cash at Mid Field and James Gordon and Feargal Hynes in attack: The two goal scorers AJ Lehane and Craig McCabe (P) are pictured.

Team: Shane Birney, Neal Rossiter, Paraic O’Leary, Conor Tobin, Cian Lambe, Shane Griffith, Stephen Corrigan (0-1), Aidan Cash (0-1), Glen Murphy (0-1), James Gordon (0-1), Craig McCabe (1-0P), Feargal Hynes (0-1F), Niall Tobin, Brian Murphy (C), AJ Lehane (1-0).
Subs introduced: Kevin O’Connor, Simon Murphy, James Cash, and Eoin Fitzgerald.

Manager: Aidan O’Leary. Selectors: Michael Ryan, Myles Doyle, & Clive Lawler-Ryan.