Minors through to Co. Final

Our minor hurlers accounted for the Rapparee’s this evening in Hollymount on a scoreline 5-11 to 1-8 and will now face Rathnure in the Co. final.

Our minor hurlers dispatched a strong Rapparee side in Hollymount last night with an emphatic 5-11 to 1-8 victory. When the two sides met in the qualifiers Rapparee’s came out on top, however several Shels players were unavailable for that encounter.
On this occasion the sides were more evenly matched with Glen Murphy and Feargal Hynes opening Shels account. However a loose ball to the opposition found its way to the back of the net and the game was on in earnest. Shels got a fortuitous goal back within minutes when James Gordon took a 65’ which dropped short.  The Rapparee’s goalkeeper did well to bat down the initial shot, just to see the sliothar drop just over the line. James Gordon, Brian Murphy, Glen Murphy and Feargal Hynes (2F) all got on the scoreboard in this tight first half to have Shels come from 3 points down, to make the half time score 1-6 each. Indeed the Rapparees full forward line proving to be the strongest we had encountered the entire campaign, keeping our full back line on their toes.
Shels came out all guns blazing in the second half; Stephen Corrigan was to the fore and was making several brilliant runs, indeed the entire half forward line was in fantastic form. Feargal Hynes was winning almost everything in midfield and was moving the ball well. His free taking was also on target. The defence were doing their job well and they were not yielding much ground to the Enniscorthy outfit. Neil Rossiter, having a particularly strong game. Craig McCabe was outstanding again in goal and stopped two bullets which could have had a huge impact on the game had they been scored. Indeed the Shels held the Rapps to just two scores the entire second half, one free and one 65’ whilst they drove home scoring 4-4. Well done to all concerned. We now look forward to meeting Rathnure in the Co. final who won the other semi final, beating Oulart/The Ballagh by a goal. Let’s hope we can go one step further this year and bring the title home to Hollymount.
Team: Craig McCabe, Shane Griffith, Conor Tobin, Paraic O’Leary, Neil Rossiter, Aidan Cash, Niall Murphy, James Gordon, Feargal Hynes, Glen Murphy, Stephen Corrigan, Shane Birney, Niall Tobin, Brian Murphy, Johnny Campbell. Subs introduced, James Cash & Cian Lambe. Panellists: Simon Donohoe, Sean Byrne, Simon Murphy, Jack Murphy, Eoin O’Leary.
Manager: Austin Hearne, selectors, Paddy Campbell, Paddy Harding. Physio: Donal O’ Connor.