Keevans Cup- Gusserane Tournament

Shels played Bannow-Ballymitty in their first game of the Keevans Cup Tournament last Friday with a mix of their first and second team.

This is a 13 a side competition with unlimited substitution played for 25 minutes each half on a full length pitch. Normal rules apply, but any player receiving a yellow card is suspended for the remainder of this game but can be replaced. Any player receiving a red card is suspended for the remainder of this game only and cannot be replaced. The 13 a side team allows for a very fast, open game and plenty of running for all involved. The Shels had 18 players and all were used with every substituted player being reintroduced at a later stage in the game.
The Shels started quickly with points from Terry Gainfort, Mark Tobin and Colin Redmond. Although Bannow got 0-2 back, Shels were in control. However, a rebound off the upright allowed Bannow in for a goal which put them right back in the game. A further exchange of points put the minimum between the teams at half time in favour of the Shels.
In the second half Bannow gradually pulled ahead. The game was very intense now, resembling championship tempo and neither team wanted to lose. The exchanges were tough and the hits were hard. Bannow pulled ahead and Shels trailed by 0-3 with 7 minutes remaining. But it went down to the wire with Ibar Murphy scoring a late point to force a draw and bring the game into extra time (5 mins each way).
The extra time was a great contest but Shels pulled ahead early on with a goal by Terry and a point by Mark Tobin. Shels then had 2 men sent off (one red) and so were down to 12 men. Bannow attacked hard but only managed to pull 0-1 back late in the game.
Shels now advance to meet St. James in the semi-final on Thursday 24th June in Gusserane starting at 8.30.

The panel on the night
Paudie McMahon
Shane Bierney
Aidan Murphy
Alan Griffith
Niall Kelly
Brian O’Shaughnessy
Liam Donnelly
Tommy Barron
James Murphy
Pa O’Leary
Ibar Murphy
David Kehoe
Darren Malone
Brian Kirwan
Mark Tobin
Paddy Murphy
Terry Gainfort
Colin Redmond
Mark Walsh