Shelmalier B Team crowned Division 3 League Champions

 The 2009 Division 3 Ladies football League final betwen the two Over the Water teams was keenly contested in St Patricks Pk last Friday night. The Crossabeg/Ballymurn girls with a number of county adult players in their line up were hot favourites to overcome their near neighbours and make it a double, having already won the Junior B championship. There was some high quality football displayed by both teams.

Shelmalier 4-12

Crossabeg/Ballymurn 1-6

The Shelmalier girls got off to a flying start and had four points on the board courtesy of Edel Campbell, Katriona Parrock, Ellie Carley and Jean Devoy before Katie Redmond opened Crossabeg/Ballymurn account with a point after 8 mins. Parrock and Redmond exchanged points from frees before Katie Redmond scored an excellent goal. Good work from Niamh Quirke allied to quick interchanging between Sinead Goggin, Redmond and Aoife Sheil saw Redmond give Charlotte McCormack no chance in the Shels goal to tie up the scores 0-5 to 1-2 after 15 mins. The Crossabeg/Ballymurn girls despite some hard work from their inside forward line of Roisin Doyle, Mag Walsh and Sarah Murphy were unable to capitalise on this boost.

With Shauna Murphy and Clara Donnelly dominant in midfield and support play coming from Anne Marie Kelly, Rosin Cloake, Ciara Donohoe and Eleanor Neville from defence and the channelling back of Campbell, the Shels girls were enjoying the lion share of the play. Jean Devoy and Katriona Parrock were causing problems in the half line. Katie Sludds in the opposing goal, aided by captain Orla Joyce at full back, Elaine Shanahan and Sandy Lynch did well to contain the Shels attack.  However with such a plentiful supply of possession, Shels tacked on two points from a Parrock free and Devoy from play before they finished the half strongly. Katriona Parrock raced through the opposing defence to give Sludds no chance in the goal.The pacy Aoife Sheil pulled back a point after 28 mins, but points from Parrock and Rachel O’Brien followed before Sludds pulled off a fine save from Áine Leacy. However the constantly threatening Jean Devoy got her rewards with a goal just before the half time whistle to give the Shelmalier girls a commanding lead of 2-9 to 1-3 at the interval.

The Crossabeg/Ballymurn girls made a determined effort to claw back the deficit on the resumption. They were rocked back with a fine individual goal from Ellie Carley who used her pace to outstrip the opposing defence to record the Shels third goal after 33 mins, but hit back immediately with points from Katie Redmond and Aoife Sheil.

With Siobhan Cummins, Lorraine O’connor and Vanessa O’Brien supporting strongly, the Crossabeg girls exerted pressure on the Shels defence but with Lisa Quill, Josepha Buttle and Anne Marie Hearne giving good protection to Charlotte McCormack, all they ahd to manage was a further point from Katie Redmond from a free after 25 mins.  The Shels girls continued to display a good quality possession game with quick layoffsto add further scores from  Ellie Carley 0-1, Katriona Parrock 1-1 and the final score of the game from Mag Doherty 0-1 to leave Shelmalier winners on a 4-12 to 1-6 scoreline.

A pleasing aspect from Shelmaliers point of view was their use of subs and still held their shape and purpose.  The Crossabeg/Ballymurn girls will be disappointed that they did not do the double but they have brighter days in the future.

County Vice Chairperson Joe Fox presented the cup to the winning captain Anne Marie Hearne.

Shelmalier:  Charlotte McCormack, Lisa Quill, Josepha Buttle, Anne Marie Hearne Capt, Ciara Donohoe, Anne Marie Cullen, Eleanor Neville, Shauna Murphy, Clara Donnelly, Edel Campbell 0-1, Katriona Parrock 2-5, Jean Devoy 1-2, Rachel O’Brien 0-1, Ellie Carley 1-2, Aine Leacy.

Subs: Roisin Cloake for Donohoe, Aimee Fox for Leacy, Mag Doherty for O’Brien, Caroline Curran for Carley, Andrea Furlong for

E Neville, Ciara Neville for Quill, Hanah Duggan for Lil Roche   Mary Cullen, Michelle Harding, Sarah Leacy, Siobhan

Claoke, Kelly Ann Kearney

Mentors: Andrew Furlong, Billy Donnelly, Denis Corrigan, Mary Doyle.

Crossabeg/Ballymurn: Katie Sludds, Sandy Lynch, Orla Joyce (Capt), Elaine Shanahan, Siobhan Cummins, Lorraine O’Connor, Vanessa O’Brien, Kimberley Moloney, Niamh Quirke, Sinead Griffin, Katie Redmond 1-4, Aoife Shiel 0-2, Roisin Doyle, Mag Walsh, Sarah Murphy.

Mentors:  Peadar O’Connor, Ann Doyle, Sean Redmond, Tom Millar