Shels make it 4 in a row

bmShels made history today when they captured their 4th Jim Byrne title in a row, beating Starlights -06 to -05 pt.

The Shelmaliers Minor Football team achieved history on Sunday last as they became the first team to win four consecutive Byrne Cup events with a hard fought one point victory over Starlights in Killurin. This was a very hard and keenly contested final which could have gone either way. The bit more experienced side probably winning out in the end. Despite the scoreline showing that there was no goal scored there was a great number of chances for both teams to raise a green flag but thanks to some brilliant defending and a great display of goalkeeping by Shane Birney in the Shels goal, 6 pts to 5pts was the final score. The Shels lads started the better and thanks to some great play and passing movements they opened up the Starlights defence time and again but just failed to put the finishing touches to their hard work. A J Lehane, James Gordon and Glen Murphy being particularly dominant. However as the half wore on the Enniscorthy men came much more into the game and thanks  mainly to Shane Birney, Paraic O Leary, Niall Murphy and Shane Griffith in the Shels rear guard, the teams went in level at half time.  The second half opened at a fast pace with the Starlights starting to win a lot of ball around the middle sector the Shels defence were again under great pressure. None more so than when after 5 minutes of the new half the referee awarded a rather soft penalty to the Enniscorthy men as Brendan Kearney bore down on goal. However as so often in the past Shane Birney again saved the day with a brilliant flying stop. This proved to be the turning point as both James Gordon and AJ Lehane added points to the Shels tally and despite some late scares the Shels men retained their Byrne Cup crown.  Best for Shels on the day were Shane Birney, Paraic O Leary, Shane Griffith, Aidan Cash and John Campbell. Well done to all.   
Team: Shane Birney, Conor Tobin, Paraic O’Leary, Johnny Campbell, Niall Murphy, Shane Griffith, Neil Rossiter, Craig McCabe, Aidan Cash,, Glen Murphy (0-1) James Gordon (0-3), Stephen Corrigan (0-1), Brian Murphy (C), AJ Lehane (0-1), Simon Murphy. Subs used Cian Lambe & Niall Tobin.