Historic 3 in a row for Jim Byrne Team

btjgOur U18 Footballers made it a historic 3 in a row when they won the Jim Byrne Cup for a record third time, in Taghmon last Sunday when they defeated Ferns. They are the first team to ever do so in over 40 years of the competition.

Playing with a strong breeze in the first half, a James Gordon goal along with points from Feargal Hynes, Alan Rossiter, and Brian Doyle and others saw us ahead at half time by 1-6 to 0-2.
Now facing the wind and a determined Ferns team, the Shels boys were under pressure but the real strength of this team came through with scores from Brian Murphy, James Gordon, Glen Murphy & Feargal Hynes bringing us victory on a scoreline 3-8 to 0-7. Captain Brian Tobin accepted the cup on behalf of the team and James Gordon was awarded man of the match.
Team: Shane Birney, Niall Murphy, Noel Mythen, Stephen Corrigan, Sean Walsh, Benny Barron, Shane Griffith, Aidan Cash, Brian Tobin (C), Brian Doyle (0-1), Brian Murphy (1-0) Kevin O’Leary, Feargal Hynes(0-3, 2F), James Gordon (2-2), Alan Rossiter (0-1). Subs used Glen Murphy (0-1F), Stuart Leacy, Craig McCabe, Conor Tobin and Johnny Campbell. Panellists: Darragh Cloake, Ronan Kavanagh, Cian Lambe, Conor Deirham, AJ Lehane, Paraic O’Leary
The club & management would like to thank John, Margaret & John Paul Hanrahan, Hotel Curracloe for their kind sponsorship of the meal after the final.