Shels Juveniles are Co. Champions

juvenile sgPride of place this week goes to our juvenile football team who captured our first Coiste na nOg title of the year with a highly impressive 2:10 to 1:3 victory over St Annes in Taghmon on Saturday 23rd August, 2008

The Shane Griffith led boys showed fantastic spirit and skill especially in the second half to win out but in the first half things did not look good. Our boys played with the aid of the strong breeze in the first thirty minutes but looked nervous as their superierority did not show on the board due to some wayward shooting. However thanks to accurate free taking from Glen Murphy and Fergal Hynes we built up a three point lead after 15 minutes. St Annes were defending well and with Kevin Whelan and Diarmuid O Keeffe working hard at midfield the pressure was really on our boys. However this team has showed all year that they are made of stern stuff and when James Gordon goaled on twenty minutes our great play was being rewarded. However St Annes were not going to give in easy and when they goaled from a Paddy Miskella penalty and followed it up with a point the half time lead of 1:5 to 1:1 didnt look great considering the strength of the breeze. This was when the real character of this team shone out with their brilliant passing movements making light of the now terrible conditions.Three un-answered points stretched the lead to seven and when James Gordon got his second goal in the 15th minute there was no doubt where the cup was headed. The standard of play from our team was top class at this stage and they went on to win out by ten points. This team went unbeaten through out the year and great credit is due to the boys themselves and their mentors who gave our club some great enjoyment all through the season. Congratulations to all concerned.

Team:Team: 1 Shane Berney, 2 Dean Corrigan, Niall Murphy, 4 Paraic O’Leary, 5 Craig McCabe, 6 Shane Griffith (Captain), 7 Johnny Campbell, 8 Stephen Corrigan, 9 Aidan Cash, 10 Brian Murphy, 11 James Gordon, 12 Conor Tobin, 13 Feargal Hynes, 14 Glen Murphy, 15 Cian Lambe.

Subs introduced: AJ Lehane, Conor Dirham, Stephen Dwyer, and Simon Murphy

The boys were given a reception in the sports complex in Hollymount on the eve of the match, whereby management had secured sponsorship for new gear for the juveniles. Thanks go to Sponsors, Denis & Theresa Corrigan, Ballyfarnogue, David & Ben Murphy, Ardcavan and Gordon Griffith Services, Fahys Cross.

Manager Aidan O’Leary, Selectors Michael Ryan, & Mick Smith. Trainer John Banville