Senior Hurlers win V Rathgarogue/Cushinstown

alShelmalier senior hurling team had a very convincing win over Rathgarogue-Cushinstown on Sunday last.

Playing with the breeze in the first half the Shels had a commanding lead at half-time of 8 pts; Cushinstown were having problems with the direct and fast hurling being produced by a young eager fit shelmalier team. With the wind the visitors fought hard in the 3rd quarter but for the tigerish defending of the six backs the shels held and went to claim their first win in the league by a margin of 15 points. Solid backs, hard-working midfielders and eager forwards gave a very good team display on a very good pitch. Next match Cuala on wed next 9th in Hollymount at 6.30pm in the Leinster League

Shels started the stronger and were soon 5 points to 1 ahead in the first ten minutes before the opposition were awarded a penalty. This was superbly dealt with, first by the corner back Aaron Watters and then cleared by the goal keeper.  5 further points from play before Chris McGrath found the back of the net on the cusp of half time to leave the score at this point 1-10 to 0 -5 in favour of Shels.
Colin Kehoe got the Shels off to a bright start when he pointed in the first minute of the second half before Rathgarogue/Cushinstown were awarded a second penalty. Goalkeeper Declan Murphy was not found wanting and saved the well taken shot. The opposition scored three points unanswered at this stage (two free’s) before Colin Kehoe stopped their flow. A 65’ converted by Stephen Banville before Seamie Harding won a loose ball and headed towards goal, which he duly scored. A foul on Aidan Murphy saw Chris McGrath convert the ensuing free. Chris McGrath won a breaking ball which he let off to newly introduced Dessie Kehoe, who saw Chris Wall better placed than himself, and gave a short pass over to result in Shels 3rd goal of the day. Further insurance points by Colin Kehoe (2) and Tommy Barron (1) left the final score at 3-17 to 0-11.

Declan Murphy, Aaron Watters, Conor Byrne, Cathal Gaule, Conor Walsh, Aidan Murphy, David Cloney, Alan Griffith (0-1), Emmet O’Leary, Seamie Harding (1-1), Colin Kehoe (-7), Ibar Murphy (0-2), Joe Kelly(-1), Stephen Banville (0-2), and Chris McGrath (1-2).
Subs introduced: Ciaran O’Shaughnessy, Tommy Barron (0-1), Mick Kelly, Dessie Kehoe and Chris Wall (1-0).