Junior Footballers deserved win V Clonard

Shels 0-12 Clonard 1-6

Junior Football League

April 13, 2008

Venue Clonard pitch in Coolcotts Wexford Town


Trailing by 2 points at half-time, 0-6 to 0-4, a strong second half from the junior football team allowed the Shels to take the points with a full deserved 3 point victory over the Wexford town club. Clonard took a two point lead early in the game before Eoin Doyle got the Shels off the mark in the seventh minute. Mick Kelly then leveled the game before Clonard scored four unanswered points between the 15th minute and the 25th minute of the half. With the aide of the breeze Clonard were leading by four points with just 5 minutes to go in the half when the visitors came to life, the Shels gradually came to grips with the central positions and replied with two points, a free from Daren Malone and a point from play from Ibar Murphy, to close out the half.

The Shels completely controlled proceedings in the second half and had just taken the lead following points from John Veal, Vinny Parker and Mick Kelly when Clonard broke upfield and crashed in a goal. The over the water men resumed control of the game immediately and despite dominating possession hit some bad wides and had a great goal chance smothered on the edge of the small square. John Veal soloed up field to land a point and normal services resumed from there to the end of the game with points flowing from Conor Walsh, Brian Doyle and a John Veal 45. With time running out and the lead at two points the next score was vital for both teams and it was the biggest man on the field Daren Malone who slotted over the clinching score.

Playing into a strong wind and up the hill in the first half the Shels didn't register a single wide, but they made up for this in the second period when they hit nine wides!

1. Colm Parker, 2. Brian O'Shaughnessy, 3. Denis Kelly, 4. Seamie Harding, 5. James Murphy, 6. Vinny Parker (0-1), 7. John Veal (0-3), 8. Daren Malone (0-2), 9, Conor Walsh (0-1), 10. Ibar Murphy (0-1), 11. Eoin Doyle (0-1), 12. Willie O'Shaughnessy, 13. Mick Kelly (0-2), 14. Ciaran Walsh, 15. Brian Doyle (0-1).

Subs: David Kehoe for Eoin Doyle (inj), Graeme Lawlor for Ciaran Walsh, Colin Redmond for James Murphy, Niall Kelly for Seamie Harding (inj)