Shelmalier under 14 hurlers lose by a narrow margin.

action from the under 14 hurling semi finalExcitement to the very end of pulsating encounter.

A great overall team performance by the Shelmalier under 14 hurlers ended in disappointment when they went down by a narrow margin 0-8 to 1-7 to Gorey in the county semi final played in Blackwater on Saturday last. The black and amber side was first off the mark when Craig McCabe pointed after three minutes, however, Gorey quickly replied with a goal after five minutes. While the scoring in the first half was quiet low 1-4 to 0-5 in favour of Gorey at half time, the intensity for the play and the skill and determination of all the players was top class, with both sides evenly matched. During this period the Shelmalier defense was well marshaled by centre players Paraic O Leary and Conor Tobin, who were ably assisted by their team mates on the wings, Eoin O Leary, Eoghan Fitzgerald, Niall Tobin and Stephen Dwyer, with Sean Byrne making many fine saves in goal. Conor Tobin, Glen Murphy and Craig McCabe were the Shels scorer in the first half. The Shelmaliers side came out at the start of the second half very determined and leveled the score with points from Conor Tobin and Craig McCabe after five minutes. Both teams failed to register a score in the next ten minutes, but during this period of play the large crowd witnessed some outstanding hurling, with Dean Corrigan and Neil Rossiter controlling mid field and Shane Birney, Glen Murphy, AJ Lehane, Graham Staples and Craig McCabe moving the ball swiftly in the forward line. Gorey scored a further two point the regain the lead, with the Shels pushing forward in great numbers to regain the initiative. In the last five minutes Shane Birney raced through the Gorey defense in search of goal, only to be blocked as he attempted to strike  the ball to the net, the resulting point put the narrowest of scores between the sides. With the ball traveling from end to end the result was in doubt to the final whistle. Team Sean ByrneEoin O Leary      Paraic O Leary          Eoghan Fitzgerald.Niall Tobin                Conor Tobin       Stephen Dwyer.Dean Corrigan      Craig McCabeGraham Staples       Glen Murphy             AJ LehaneKevin O Connor           Shane Birney       Neil Rossiter. Subs Simon Murphy for Kevin O Connor.Mark Mythen for Graham Staples. Other subs Damian Drennan, Christopher Scallan, Jack Murphy, Kevin Byrne, Simon Murphy and James Cash